A Change of Plans, Two Steadfast Hearts

Roseland_Ballroom_New_York_City_1945.jpg

text16.png

The socks were packed. The medicines were packed. The pet supplies were packed. Even the Berkey water filter was packed.

"Don't pack that yet. I am going to finish it before we move."

Only Edgar's loom was left to be packed.

The movers were due the next morning.

Edgar was having some feelings.

"I will finish that rug right now, wait and see."

He went over to the loom, and began weaving.

Elsie remembered their first dance together, the moment her life became entwined with his, on the dance floor of Roseland Ballroom.

Not long after, Elsie called the movers and postponed the move.

Edgar would finish his rug.

image.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is socks.

I've been aching to write another episode in the lives of Edgar and Elsie. This freewrite is a springboard - an outline really - of that episode. It needs lots of fleshing out, more than can be done in five minutes certainly. Especially, why does Elsie postpone the move, rather than knock her husband's block off?

Below, find the first three episodes. The first two were not freewrites, but we-writes, which always take me a good week to write. The last episode below is one of my best ever freewrites. They are all very short, and well worth reading.

I've listed them in narrative chronological order, not the order I wrote them. I'm not yet sure where this one will go in the order, but I know it will be neither the first nor the last.

This story has promise. Finishing it is on my bucket list.

The Easiest Thing In The World To Do

Sunflowers are for Sissies

A Little Old Lady and her Morning Constitutional

text16.png

Poster image: Roseland Ballroom - eBaycard, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=30478888

text16.png

Newbies! Come write with us! Actual people read and support your work!!!



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency