Where The Shadow Dwells/Donde Habita La Sombra

English

It was a Saturday night, I didn't want to leave the house because it was cold and I didn't feel like walking around the city. Some friends had invited me to drink but I didn't like the place where they were going so I left them on board, and to make matters worse, I had just slipped in the kitchen and hit my head hard, leaving me a little dazed and with a bump that was not easy to disguise.

Because of work I had not been able to arrange my belongings for the move since I had to travel, sometimes weekly so I was going to take advantage to finish arranging the things that 6 months ago were in boxes. I took a painkiller that I didn't know but I had been given at work and as I had some beers and snacks, I went to the room and looked for videos on Youtube to watch something while the pain from the blow went away.

I put a cold bottle on my bump and found a channel about unsolved disappearance cases. The last chapter of this channel was about a case that had occurred in a northern city where I had been on a business trip a month ago, I had just seen a news item and that was why I had heard about it. Watching that chapter I was able to recognize some places since the hotel where I had stayed was close by. When I saw another chapter I also realized that the disappearance had been in a city to the south where my mom lived and that I had visited 2 months ago, so at that moment I called her to ask her how she was. As usual her cell phone was silent and she didn't answer. A little worried I got out of bed and went to the living room to sort the boxes while she called me back as usual. The first box had winter clothes in it so I took it out to hang it in the closet but then my head started to hurt a little with the particularity that I felt how the pain expanded from the bump to every corner of my skull, I couldn't stand it so I went to lie down on the bed while I continued listening to the next chapter of disappearances.

In the chapter, a city where two victims disappeared and where coincidentally I had also stayed for two weeks 5 months ago appeared as the place where the events took place. When I heard that my heart skipped a beat because I had been in the 3 places mentioned, it was something suspiciously striking and mysterious.

After a while of anguish and nerves I decided to forget the subject and when the pain passed a little I began to hang the clothes. When I finished that task I managed to see at the back of the closet a floorboard that seemed to be somewhat loose, I did not remember having seen it like that when I had moved so I approached it to accommodate it, at that time the pain in my head began again but stronger than the previous one so I quickly took a painkiller and lay down to rest. Little by little the pain disappeared as I fell asleep.

When I woke up somewhat dazed I noticed that the board was well placed, the doubt entered me to know if it was the effect of the pill or the blow that had made me see that the board was wrongly placed. The playlist of the channel had already finished so I looked for something else to watch but then I noticed that a chapter would be trained at midnight and when I saw the thumbnail of the video I could read the name of the city where I had been traveling last week and to my surprise there was a picture that looked very similar to the person who was in the next room while I was staying there, that left me very scared, so much so that I went to the bathroom to wash my face with cold water. I accidentally touched my bump triggering the pain that made me remember a scene of a covered face with a limp voice pleading while I squeezed his neck, that memory felt like something lived.

I went to bed scared and trembling, I did not understand what had happened and that's when I thought of checking the board at the back of the closet, the headache began to increase much stronger than before but this time I decided to resist and when I got to the back of the closet I checked the board that was loose and could be lifted. I discovered that underneath there was a hole where there was a black bag with something inside, I took out the black bag and when I emptied it many keys fell out, each key had a key ring with a date and all of them coincided with the dates of the disappearances.

The End

All photos were taken and edited with my Xiaomi RedMi 11 cell phone.
Resources used translator DeepL and Canva.

Español

Era un sábado por la noche, no quise salir de casa porque hacía frío y no tenía ánimos de pasear por la ciudad. Algunos amigos me habían invitado a beber pero el sitio a dónde iban no me gustaba así que los dejé embarcados, y para empeorar mi situación, recién me había resbalado en la cocina y me había dado un golpe fuerte en la cabeza que me había dejado un poco aturdido y con un chichón nada fácil de disimular.

Por el trabajo no había podido arreglar mis pertenencias por la mudanza ya que me tocaba viajar, a veces semanalmente así que iba a aprovechar terminar de acomodar las cosas que hace 6 meses estaban en cajas. Me tomé un analgésico que no conocía pero que me habían regalado en el trabajo y como tenía cervezas y unos snacks, fui al cuarto y busqué videos en Youtube para ver algo mientras se me pasaba el dolor por el golpe.

Me coloqué una botella fría en el chichón y encontré un canal sobré casos de desapariciones no resueltos. El último capítulo de este canal se trataba de un caso que había ocurrido en una ciudad del norte en donde había estado en un viaje de negocios hace 1 mes, justo había visto una noticia y fue por eso que me había enterado. Al ver ese capítulo logré reconocer algunos lugares ya que el hotel donde me había quedado estaba algo cerca. Al ver otro capítulo también me di cuenta que la desaparición había sido en una ciudad al sur donde vivía mi mamá y que había visitado hace 2 meses así que en ese momento la llamé para preguntarle cómo estaba. Como siempre su celular estaba en silencio y no me contestó. Un poco preocupado me levanté de la cama y fui a la sala a ordenar las cajas mientras ella me regresaba la llamada como de costumbre. La primera caja tenía ropa de invierno así que la saqué para colgarla en el closet pero en eso mi cabeza comenzó a dolerme un poco con la particularidad que sentí como el dolor se expandía desde el chichón hasta cada uno de los rincones del cráneo, no pude aguantar así que fui a acostarme en la cama mientras seguía escuchando el siguiente capítulo de desapariciones.

En el capítulo apareció como lugar de los hechos una ciudad donde desaparecieron dos víctimas y donde casualmente también me había tocado permanecer durante dos semanas hace 5 meses. Al escuchar eso se me aceleró el corazón de golpe porque había podido estar en los 3 sitios mencionados, era algo sospechosamente llamativo y misterioso.

Luego de un rato de angustia y nervios decidí olvidar el tema y al pasar un poco el dolor comencé a colgar la ropa. Al terminar esa tarea logré ver al fondo del closet una tabla del piso que parecía estar algo suelta, no recordaba haberla visto así cuando me había mudado por lo que me acerqué a ella para acomodarla, en eso comenzó otra vez el dolor en mi cabeza pero más fuerte que el anterior por lo que rápidamente tomé un calmante y me acosté a descansar. Poco a poco el dolor fue desapareciendo mientras me quedé dormido.

Al despertar algo aturdido me percaté que la tabla estaba bien puesta, la duda entró en mí por saber si era el efecto de la pastilla o del golpe que me había hecho ver que la tabla estaba mal puesta. La lista de reproducción del canal ya había culminado así que busqué otra cosa para ver pero luego observé que se entrenaría un capítulo a la media noche y al ver la miniatura del vídeo se leía el nombre de la ciudad donde había estado de viaje la semana pasada y para mí sorpresa había una foto que se parecía mucho a la persona que estaba en la habitación contigua mientras yo me hospedaba allí, eso me dejó muy asustado, tanto que fuí al baño a lavarme la cara con agua fría. Me toqué accidentalmente el chichón activando el dolor que me hizo recordar una escena de un rostro cubierto con una voz sin fuerzas suplicando mientras yo apretaba su cuello, ese recuerdo se sintió como algo vivido.

Me fui a la cama asustado y tembloroso, no entendía que había pasado y en eso pensé en revisar la tabla del fondo del closet, el dolor de cabeza comenzó a aumentar mucho más fuerte que antes pero está vez decido resistir y al llegar al fondo del closet revisé la tabla que si estaba suelta y se podía levantar. Descubrí que debajo había un hueco donde se hallaba una bolsa negra con algo adentro, saqué la bolsa negra y al vaciarla cayeron muchas llaves, cada llave tenía una llavero con una fecha y todas coincidían con las fechas de las desapariciones.

Fin

Todas las fotos fueron tomadas y editadas con mi celular Xiaomi RedMi 11.
Recursos usados traductor DeepL y Canva.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now