Five minute freewrite by @myjob

141128050_4127809313915791_985670719633587155_n.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Thursday prompt parking ticket hosted by @mariannewest

I did not get a driver's license until I was 21 and I only got it then because I got a speeding ticket. The kicker was, I was not the one driving. I lived in California at the time. MY husband was in the Marines and he had a broken leg, they would not let him drive on base with the leg broken. He would drive until we were a mile or so from the base. On this day is was speeding and passed a State Trooper who was busy with another car he had stopped. He thought we got away with it and stopped and switch drivers. When I approached the base gate, the guard told me to pull over and park, he said to wait on the State Trooper. I got a ticket for not having my license on me and doing 80 in a 45. I got my license before the court date and the judge did not notice the date that I got it. I had to pay a fine but I do not remember what it was.

I had just married the husband I now have and on our wedding night, I received ticket #2. I would say I was beyond drunk. We tapped a keg by 10 am, then champagne, and went to 2 bars. On our way home we stopped at the place we got married so I could take my car home. I did not make it home. There was a curve in the road and I went straight into a tree. At the hospital, the cop told my husband that I had enough trouble and he took the vial of blood they had drawn for the alcohol test and threw it in the trash. He wrote me a ticket for careless driving instead of a DUI. When I went to court, the judge somehow knew it was my wedding night and asked me where I was going, then he laughed and said I did not have to answer that.

Where I live there are not many places that have parking meters. Several years ago at Melbourne beach, they put in parking meters which are a pain in the ass. If we go there looking for sandfleas, one of us needs to stay in the truck and watch for the meter cop while the other goes down to the beach to see if there are enough fleas to catch. If they are there, we have to check the time and put quarters in the meter, then we need to keep track of the time to be back to put more money in it. This is hard to do because sometimes we are 3 or 4 miles from where we parked. We do not go there unless we can not find fleas anywhere else. I am afraid that one of these days we will get a parking ticket.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency