5 minute freewrite Wednesday prompt yarn bombing

20220921_103410.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Wednesday prompt yarn bombing hosted by @mariannewest

I love it when a plan works. I had 30 bait left in the holding pen and my plan was to go today and catch a legal snook. It is not an easy thing to do. To be legal they need to be between 28 and 32 inches, that is a 4-inch slot limit.

I first went to Semblers Island and fished where I caught a snook a few weeks ago, but I did not get a bite from a snook. The cove of Semblers Island is nothing more than a mud hole.

20220921_082202.jpg
I was surprised when I caught this fish, it is what we used to call a Jewfish. I am not sure why it was called that but I doubt that it had anything to do with offending Jewish people, but someone must have found it not politically correct so now they are now called goliath grouper.

20220921_103347.jpg
I rowed away from where I caught the grouper and pitched a bait, the cork popped under and it was a trout, (in the mud hole), I wondered what is going on, trout and grouper do not belong in here. Maybe I do not know as much about fishing as I thought I knew.

GH014481.jpg
I next fished the fish house dock. The fish house used to be on the end of it but all that is there is the trolley that we pushed the fish up the dock on. The City tore the fish house down, next, I would not be surprised if they did some yarn bombing on it. Yes, I am bitter. I never got a bite.

The fish house had a hole in the floor from back when they gutted the fish and threw the guts back in the river by dropping them down the hole. When one of my sons was about 8 or 9 years old he was fishing through the hole. All he had was a line and a hook. He pulled a snook up through the hole. My husband reached for the box hook and whacked it in the head and fileted it right there. We had it for dinner.

GH014483-4.jpg
Next, I went to the hole in Mays Island, It used to be landlocked but one of the hurricanes opened it to the river. This is where I caught the second trout. I also caught my snook here, it is 29 inches. When I caught it, I was on my last pigfish. I had two very small fire mouth grunts that I have been using because pigfish have been hard to get.

When I fished a couple of days ago and only caught jacks, I thought my end of the trout season was going to end with not catching a trout but I caught two today so now I can end it on a better note.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency