5 minute freewrite Tuesday prompt *storyteller*

image.png
I copied this image from https://www.istockphoto.com/photo/everyone-has-a-story-gm1289523533-385172606
this is my post for #freewriters Tuesday prompt *storyteller * hosted by @mariannewest

I miss the days when there were fish houses along the river. On the days when the weather was too bad to fish, the fishermen would go to the fish house to either work on their boats or just to check on them. Back then everyone kept their boats tied to the fish house dock.

You could bet that several of them would show up and get to talking about the old days or about who caught what or did you hear about so-n-so?

There was the time that Bob was fishing with Bud and Bob dropped the hammer overboard. Johnny pulled his boat up to Buds and Bud had Bob by the feet and Bob's head was under the water. Johnny asked Bud what was he doing and Bud told him "I'm getting my damn hammer back." "Well Bud", Johnny said, "you should let him up for air". Bud replied there's still bubbles coming up, he ain't dead. He let Bob come up just long enough to get a big gulp of air stuck him back in the river. Bob found the hammer.

I am not as good of a * storyteller* as some of the older men were but I told this one about the time I was cast netting in Mullet Creek Canals, I had a good throw of mullet, and I heard hooping and hollering coming from a boat with three men in it. They pulled up to me and one of them says, "darling, I have one thing to ask you, can you cook" I said yes sir, I can. He then asked me to marry him.

Old A.M. loved to fish closed water. One night he saw a helicopter with a spotlight and thought they were after him. He hid his boat in the mangrove trees and walked five miles home. The next day he found out that they were looking for a missing boater.

Another one about A.M. was he was giving my husband a ride home and asked if he was hungry, my husband said yes a little. A.M. says open the glove box and get us a couple of hot dogs out. My husband opened it and there was an open package of them and they were green. My husband told him he did not want it and A.M. said, well, I do, give me two of them. This was not in the winter, it was summer in Florida, locked in a car all day.

Troy's wife found out he had a girlfriend and they were at Earl's Bar. The bar has an open front with tables. She pulled up to the front, saw them together, honked her horn and when he saw her, she floored it and drove the car into the bar. She was lucky that she did not kill someone.

Another fisherman was cheating on his wife with a woman named Dawn. He was taking Dawn fishing at night with him. Another fisherman put a bumper sticker on his car that said, I get up at the crack of Dawn. He did not see it for several weeks. Boy was he mad.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency