5-minute Freewrite by @myjob

IMG_20180919_181920.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Friday prompt celery hosted by @mariannewest

I had to wait until 9 this morning before I could weigh up my sailcats. I had 98 pounds. The fish house owner told my husband to call him Monday and by then he will know if he has a sale for them and what he can pay us.

After leaving that fish house I went to the fish house that I sell my trout to and got ice. By the time I got my boat overboard and to the dock where I keep my bait, it was 10:30.

I fish all over the Big Flat, the east side of 7 trout bar, Blackpoint, then I went to the Sleuth. I caught 3 trout in the little cove. I also caught another big snook. After releasing the snook, things started going wrong. There was not any wind and I got a wind knot in the braided line, not being able to see well, I could not get the knot out so I cut my line and re-tied it.

GH014064.jpg

I hooked something big and my line broke at the knot. I put a new leader and hook on. The next cast I hooked what I was sure was a trout and I could feel it hung on something, the trout got off but my line was frayed so I had to put a new one on.

I hooked another big fish and my drag had tightened itself down and the line broke at the spool. Once again I had to put all new leader, cork, and hook on.

I started to leave and a pompano skipped, all week I have been carrying 2 pompano rods and a bag and a half of fleas. I only had the half bag with me and only my trout rods. So I took the trout rigs off and put pompano rigs on.

The pickers were bad, so I was going through the fleas in a hurry, I moved to try to get out of the pickers. I was not there long when I caught one. I got the bag of fleas out of the cooler to re-bait and saw that I only had 2 left.

It was a little after 6 when I got home and as soon as I walked inside the house the power goes out.

The good thing was, my husband had cooked supper, pulled pork and swiss chard. but no celery.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency