Live By The Sea

"Look at that picture. So beautiful. Looks so real. Like you could dive in and go for a swim."

That's what happens when you live away from the sea for so long. You see a giant picture of the sea and you think of it as a masterpiece.

"It's hard to believe this is in a gift shop. It should be in a museum."

And there it was. It's not even going to cost a tenner. Just the inconvenience of taking it home.

"Can I come and collect it later?"

No problem.

"Before you go," said the shop assistant, "stop and stare at the picture some more. You'll feel like you're in it."

I stopped and I stared.

"Wow, I'm sure I could feel a drop of water on my face."

"Oh," said the shopkeeper. "We need to fix that leak."

"No need to immerse myself then. I'll take it home."

Then a man in a wizard costume walked through the door.

"Are you a wizard?" I asked.

"Yes, I'm on my lunch break now, before the next rehearsal."

"That's right," said the shop assistant. "Merlin is playing at the local theatre."

"Ok," I said. "Nice to meet you."

For a minute, I did think I was in for a bit of magic. But so far, all I've had is a leak and an amateur actor.

"I think I'll go home now," I said. "I'll take the picture with me."

"Will you take the boat home?" asked the actor

I'm confused. How can I take the boat home if I don't live by the sea?

"No," I said. "I'll take the bus. Anyway, there's no sea."

"Don't forget to stare at the picture when you get home."

I got home and stared at the picture. It gave me a sense of calm. It made me realise something very important.

"Life is better by the sea."

And there it was, I moved back home. The picture did provide some magic after all; in its own way.

It took me a few days to sort myself out and settle. I walked into town.

I saw a shop I recognised. Except; why would it be here?

"It couldn't be the same shop, could it?" I said to myself.

I walked in anyway.

"Hello again. You got here in the end."

One minute later, a wizard walked in the door.

"Can I leave these flyers with you? The show starts tonight. Here's 2 tickets for your trouble."

…..and there it was. The same shop.

The shop assistant looked at me.

"Maybe you'll go home by boat today."

px-downloadgb4be184a534ae6e40641cfab2892eb9e0354678fd23d213bfe482ac0e6a57d2f08f23cb56ce32024a65913457134798e_1920.jpg
Pixabay

Freewrite, prompt by @mariannewest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency