Grandpa with The Blue Bicycle (the story behind the war)

Long ago, at my place there was an old man named James, who every Friday came to the district post office to ask if there was one in the pile of letters that had been sent to him. He continued to do so, although no letter was ever sent with the recipient's name James Harold.

The kids in my neighborhood call him the blue bike grandpa because he always rides the blue bicycle. When James passed down the street pedaling his bike, the other kids and I would scream, "Grandpa blue bike! Grandpa blue bike!, hurray!", and James always had a smile on his face.

We are happy to see that smile, because it seems full of peace and friendliness. He sometimes stops for a moment and then passes out candy to us, which is why we love James so much.

I once asked my mother why the blue bike grandfather always came and asked about the mail to the post office. Luckily, my house is near the post office. My mother didn't answer the question, but ruffled my curly hair and said, "Don't bother James. Leave him alone," with a smile.

"But it's the blue bike grandpa who likes to give us candy," I said.

"Alright, let's wash our hands, and eat right away."

Unfortunately, after that day, we never again saw the blue bike grandpa pass by. It turned out that James was rumored to have died.

A few years later, when I was a teenager, I learned that James had a son named Tony. Tony enlists as a soldier and then joins a troop of American soldiers to the German border.

James always came to the post office, waiting for a letter from his son. Unfortunately, until James died in his bed alone—because the only family he had was Tony—the old geezer had never received a letter.

Rumor has it that Tony didn't die in the war. He chose not to return home because his relationship with James was not getting along well, even before he left on duty to Germany.

I don't know what caused the relationship between father and son to break, it's just that lately I've often seen a man passing by on a blue bicycle which I think is exactly the same bicycle that James often rides. My mother said it was Tony, but why did the man always look sad?

◉◉◉


Point
Description
Tittle The Grandpa with Blue Bicycle
Day 1454
Prompt blue bicycle
Author @mosin-nagant



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency