Deep, Cold, and Dead: A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words Entry

image.png
https://pixabay.com/

It has never been this cold before.
It is something that I have never known;
It makes me think that I could not go on anymore,
And it's a life that I'm ready to disown.

The snow, as thick as the scars on my heart.
The wind, as brittle as the light within me.
I couldn't believe that living like this, apart.
Something I thought I would never have to see.

My face is white as snow
Every time the wind tries to blow
I never thought I missed the sun
I never thought it will be gone.

Your kindness, your warmth, and your smile.
That thing that shines from at least a mile.
And of course, I thought I'd never miss.
Your delectably warm and sweet kiss.

If this unknown and cold forest I shall take,
Now that you're gone and I'm the only one awake.
I'd rather be beside you, that's what I have found.
And it doesn't matter even if it's six feet under the ground.

aar.png

This is my entry to this writing prompt: @freewritehouse/a-picture-is-worth-a-thousand-words-422022

Last time, I wrote a story and I wanted to try something different now and came up with a poem. It's just a short one but I like it.

What do I see?

I see a forest in the middle of winter with a single path leading to nowhere.

What do I feel?

Nothing much, I just feel the cold. Although it never bothered me anyway, LOL, I just felt the biting cold from this image.

Instead of the path leading to the unknown, I just focused on the cold, mainly because I'm currently under the airconditioner in our office. Brrrr....

And that's how this image lead me to a cold world without a person I lived with and loved. I could imagine that living in the world, alone, and away from the warmth of your loved one will somehow look like this one in the image.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency