Fell Dragon Book 3 Part 5


Greetings Readers!

I hope the weekend wasn't too draining, and you're all ready to take this week on. I don't have too much to report on my week, but it is going to ramp up toward Friday, so if you don't see a post from me, know that I am swamped.

But for now, here is the next chapter. A bit of a small one, but there was no natural break in the next section, and having the two together would have made this post way too long. So enjoy!

Bolx hadn’t stayed on the Saith secondary home world for long. He didn’t want to be around the people that had been his family. It was too difficult for him. If this war went the way Edzeeker hoped, then perhaps he would try again but until then he couldn’t set foot on Saith soil. He turned his attention to finding Saita. He felt guilty over how her punishment had played out. He had hoped that Pura would put a time limit on her banishment, but he had clearly been too angry at what had happened to think of that.

The Saith warrior had no idea where to start looking for Saita and he decided to risk returning to the human planet he had been to months ago. Though the war was petering out the Saith, Kai and humans were still nipping and licking at old wounds. He had no idea what would happen if he were to just show up unannounced, but it was a risk he needed to take. He had not inherited his mother or sister’s ability to sense the life force of force users so he would need a physical trail to follow.

He spent two days on a neighbouring planet considering his options before finally building up the courage to contact the humans. He had expected to wait a further week for an answer, but the answer was returned almost immediately.

Come. We must talk.

Leaving his ship on the neighbouring planet he had teleported to the palace. He knew the layout well enough to be able to picture it in his mind’s eye. He did not think that showing up where Pura was would be appropriate. He placed himself on the balcony that overlooked the back of the castle. It was a view he knew all too well from his time.

“I knew that this would be the place where I would find you.” came Pura’s voice from behind him.

The Saith turned to face the human king. This time had not been kind to him. He looked exhausted and his hair was starting to become dusted with grey, long before it should have been.

“Your Majesty,” Bolx said with a bow of his head.

“You two would come here to watch the sunset.” the King came to stand at the bannister and look out towards the mountains. “Amongst other things.”

“Amongst other things.” grinned Bolx.

“I regret it, you know, sending her away. You made a good point but now,” Pura rubbed at the centre of his chest, as if in pain. “I can’t get rid of the guilt that Doran placed on my soul.”

“Where is Captain Doran?”

“Retired. He went home to his family. He wants nothing more to do with the royal family.” he sighed heavily. “I can’t blame him.”

Pura leaned with his back against the bannister. “So, Saith, what is it that I can do for you?”

“The Queen is in talks with the leader of the Kai, house Green I believe. Both councils will come to a conclusion as to whether to accept your surrender or not.”

Pura snorted. “Surrender, bah! The rubbish that Karesh put me in. Having to give up on a war that wasn’t even mine, to begin with.”

Bolx remained silent, not sure what to say.

“Tell me, are you tracking the girl?”

“That is an odd question to ask.”

“And I think it is odd you didn’t take her directly after my ruling considering your history.”

Bolx sighed. “I wasn’t sure what words you would use when you sent her on her way. They were harsh.”

“I was angry!” snapped Pura. “My Kingdom run aground, a war that was completely unnecessary and a child attacking her own father to try and get control.”

Then he swore softly and added. “She took the brunt of all my frustration up to that point. I should have waited. Should have thought it over before saying anything. Were you aware that Myla and Kiai had this elaborate plan to dethrone Karesh? Had the idiot not taken his wife Saita would not have made her move so early on.”

“How is Karesh? It’s been over a year now.”

“He’s healing but his voice is gone. Hasn’t spoken a word since he woke up. Not since he heard what I did to his daughter.”

He laughed harshly. “No, not his daughter! I took that away from her and them.”

He let a quivering breath out. “I have no idea where she is, Saith. I don’t know why you came here.”

“I came because I need to start somewhere, anywhere.”

“I have tried to find her, tried to send people to bring her back but she is gone.”
“If you could give me a starting point, then I can find her or at least get close enough to where she was last.”

“If anyone has found her, they are not telling me. Hell, I don’t even know if the girl is still alive after this or even if she wants to be alive, not after everything.”

“Make an announcement, call her home.”

“I would lose face. Can you not understand how badly the royal family’s line has been disgraced? I am trying to save face and currently, the only thing that is keeping me in power is knowing that I had the power to send away the one that thrashed Karesh. I cannot make a public announcement.”

“Then you are never going to find her.”

“You think I don’t know that?” Pura growled.

Bolx sighed and asked. “Would someone else know where I could possibly find her?”

“If that was the case, don’t you think someone would have gone after her by now?”

“Doran retired.”

Pura closed his eyes and sighed when he realised the implication. “Even when I threatened to kill those, she came into contact he would be the one to defy me.”

“Brave man, it’s why he would make a good advisor.”

“I wish you had never shown me the future. It plagues my nights.”

“I wish I had not come from it.”

“You will need to ask Myla for permission to go to her planet if you wish to speak to Doran.” Pura looked at the Saith. “But don’t expect her to be chatty.”
“Where may I find her?”

Pura pushed away from the bannister and said. “I’ll show you where.”

The King walked the soldier through winding corridors to a small room that contained Karesh and Myla. Both were sitting and reading, not a word spoken between them. Pura left Bolx at the entrance of the room. Bolx cleared his throat to announce himself but only Myla looked up. She didn’t recognise him, why would she? He had made an effort to not be noticed by her.

“Your Majesty…” he started.

“Myla,” she said simply.

“Myla then. I am here in hopes that you would grant me permission to travel to your planet.”

“My planet is neutral; any human may come and go as they please.”

He lowered his tail to wrap it around his leg. Myla’s eyes widened and her mouth opened in shock.

“May I have permission to go to your planet and talk with Doran?”

Imagine their expressions for a second. They had just gone to war with the Saith species, and now one is looking for their daughter. They must have been horrified. Anyway. See you all for the next update some time later in the week! Have a good week everyone!

For those of you just joining us, please note that this is the follow on book from Fell Dragon. Follow this link to read it
Fell Dragon Book 1
Fell Dragon Book 2
As the series continues, it will combine with another book series I wrote. To avoid confusion about what is happening, introductory chapters will be introduced separately so that you don't have to be lost. However, these chapters will contain spoilers. You can find these chapters here:
Races Explained
Banishment
Royal Guard
If you want to join the Reader's list, just ask or follow me for updates on this and my other stories.

Reader's List
@weone, @merenludick, @clairemobey, @therneau, @blitzzzz, @pravesho, @joetunex, @captainquack22, @irisworld, @braaiboy, @sketchygamerguy, @fuego-oscuro, @felt.buzz, @dibblers.dabs, @beeber, @brittandjosie, @tamacvet, @alonicus, @joetunex, @zakludick , @thinkrdotexe , @pixelhuntersam, @alonicus

Haven't read the other parts yet? Follow these handy links:
Part 4>>You are Here>>Part 6

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency