Pic1000: The Thick Smoke.

source

The rays of light were already penetrating into the room through the small crack in the wall. The shadow made from the crack and the sun drew an unfamiliar creature on the wall just next to where I had my school bags packed

I struggled out of the bed and staggered to the window and looking out the window, it was morning already. The thick black smoke from the factory downtown was seen shooting out to the sky and still polluting and filling the air as it had always done. It was now a normal routine for the people of my little town. Although the human rights doctors had warned that it was toxic and poisonous to our health, the government didn't do anything to take the factory out of our community.

I had lost mum to the poison from the gas. The doctors in our local community had tried all she could to revive mama after she had started vomiting blood from her mouth and nose. But all the efforts of the doctor failed.

I looked at my bedside clock. It was 8:15 am already. I was late for school. Ever since Mama's death I had turned a late comer in school. But when Mama was alive she had always been the one to wake me up in time for school, she always made sure I was early to school. Papa on the other hand had tried doing what mama had always done for me, but dues to the level of his busy schedule he couldn't keep up. It was either he was out to work early before I would wake or he overslept from tiredness of the previous days work.

I quickly took my bath and forgetting about breakfast I headed out the house. I will eat at my Aunty Selines place on my way to work. Aunty Seline was Mama's younger sister. She had been so good to me ever since Mama died.

Walking down the road, beautiful memories I had with mama flooded my mind. I smiled and tried not to shed a tear. Mama had told me that strong boys don't cry and I want to be strong for her. I remembered all the promises I made to her but the careless act of the corrupt government officials that took bribe from the factory directors to not relocate the factory, and the factory workers took her from me at an early age even before I could finish my primary education to fulfill any of my promises to her. I vowed to study hard and join the government so I could fight against corrupt government officials and stop the factory from polluting my small town.

This is a picture prompt at freewriters. You can join here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency