Respect For Harley | Five Minutes Freewrite

Screenshot_20210219_160927.jpg
source

From Esther's diary….

Humph! I push my key into the key lock, turn it, walk into my two bedroom apartment and bang the door close behind me. I did not bother locking it and dare anyone to come in.

Who questions a lady's choice of bike?! Well, my employer does. What a torturous man he is! You see, there are two partners with equal shares in the law firm where I work - Dr. Noodles (not medical, be guided please) and Sir Penderis (says he was knighted by the Queen of England. Pff! I won't believe it ever till I see some pictures or videos).

Noodles and Penderis are best friends right from college days all through law school. Then they made a pact to start their own thing instead of working with any senior legal practitioner. Actually they are bad with authorities and rather be the authority themselves. More reason why they are both annoying.

I love my bikes since my Dad gifted me a fairly used Harley Davidson when I turned 18. Penderis always smirked whenever he saw me on it while I roll my eyes at him and zoom off, for the fun of it.

I'm at my desk during my well-deserved lunch break surfing through the net, ogling this sleek looking Harley when Penderis speaks up from behind me, "You can do better than that. You do not know how to spend money. Buying that would be a waste!" and walks away.

I fumed in silence, pretending not to have heard him. How dare he interfere in my personal business? I do not have to like luxury cars like he does to show off to clients. My lunch time, my desk, my pc (at the time), my money and ultimately my choice of bike! How do I get back at him for disrespecting my Harley?

2YRZBi4FZVHeQQfitmdxPPgLtSu1HuSyXtTCpRF9N1ZcMUXDB7ptaErLjqGRQxz5Rir3ttiLte9Z2X1RnyguV51uGxnyoctzg7Q2.png

I hope you enjoyed reading my piece. This short story is a five-minute freewrite inspired by the prompt "how to spend money". Join @freewritehouse to receive daily prompts, hosted by @mariannewest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency