Grandma's Secret Recipe [Fiction]


Image source from Pexels

"Uh, Christine, a little help here?" Mother called from the kitchen but I pretended I didn't hear as I held the remote and changed TV channels. Our first Thanksgiving together as a family since my grandmother passed away.

Every November, we looked forward to this special holiday because she made it that —special. Her soft voice persuaded us to join her in the kitchen. Not that we would help in the cooking. Instead, we, her grandchildren, would keep her company with our chats and jokes as she prepared the most delicious meals for the occasion.

It was a beautiful reunion.

I remember my grandmother saying the meals tasted delicious because they were prepared with love. Now that she's gone, it's hard to believe the holiday would be the same without her. Though my mother is trying hard to make the holiday special.

A rap on the window drew my attention. I dropped the remote and moved towards the window. Parting the curtain, Cherie, my older sister, stood there and inclined her head towards the door. I arched my brow at her. Couldn't she have knocked or rang the bell?

She grinned mischievously. She looked gorgeous standing outside with the snow falling on her hair and face. I shook my head at her before opening the door. She breezed in with a smile.

"That took you forever," she remarked.

I rolled my eyes at her. "You could have knocked?"

"Then mom will know I'm here. I want to surprise her and there you were, watching TV," she grimaced like it was a childish thing to do.

"Mom's busy in the kitchen."

"Oh. Good. Let's go help her," she said, pulling my hands and making sure I followed her.

The aroma in the kitchen reminded me of my grandmother. Cherie and I froze, staring at our mother. She smiled at us and shrugged. "Your grandma gave me her secret recipe."

Wow. I did not expect that. In the kitchen were different delicious dishes but I couldn't take my eyes off the plate of peppered shrimp with lemon sauce. My favourite.

"Happy thanksgiving, my girls," mother said, draping an arm over our shoulders and pulling us into a group hug.

I shed a tear or two, in honour of my grandmother. We felt her touch even when she was no longer with us.

She made sure we did.

1615528867_16681.png

I hope you enjoyed reading my piece. This story is inspired by the @mariannewest freewrite prompt "shrimp with lemon sauce". Join the Freewriters community to receive daily prompts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency