Beach Day Or Work? | Freewrite

photo_1555971134_83b8048bd02e.jpeg

Phew! I donned my dark shades, picked up my small bag containing my sunscreen, lip gloss, body lotion, a neck scarf, my phone and most importantly, my headphones.

It was a beach day for me on a warm, sunny afternoon in Miami and I was not going to let anything, I mean anything, disrupt my tlc plans.

After working nonstop for about 120 hours in the week, performing back to back surgeries and consulting on some medical cases, it's a wonder that I did not break down.

As soon as I left the hospital, I took an Uber straight to the sophisticated five-star Civic Hotel & Resort close to the beach and lodged for the weekend. I couldn't wait to stretch out in the warm sun to relax and hopefully get a tan as well.

Then my phone rang. It was my favourite, most competent nurse at the hospital. No, no, no! I ignored the call. I needed this weekend.

As I packed my things, my phone rang again! I rolled my eyes and checked the screen, it was my mom. I exhaled. "Hello mom. I really can't talk right now."

"Oh, I thought it's your day off."

"Yes, mom. That's the reason I can't talk right now."

"Alright, lovie. Just checking up on you."

"Really?" I asked unbelievably.

My mom chuckled. "Yes, really. Now go and get some rest." Click. Huh. I picked my bag and opened the door to leave my room when my phone rang again!

It's my fellow cardiologist. "What?!" I grumbled. I could hear him laughing at the other end.

"Hello to you too! Just called to say hi, " he said. I was silent for like a second. "Are you pranking me?" I asked and he laughed some more. Click. The call ended. I glance at my phone. Huh! Now I am a little worried.

1615528867_16681.png

I hope you enjoyed reading my piece. This short story is a five-minute freewrite inspired by the prompt "break down". Join the @freewriters community to receive daily prompts, hosted by @mariannewest.

Image source: Unsplash.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency