An Assassin After The Rayiys

screely_1646066886565.png

In a seated yoga pose in the centre of his private study and eyes closed in meditation, Iliad sensed as Mariam, his most trusted almusaeid walked into the room in the dead of the night.

"Rayiys, your tea is ready," she whispered quietly, the clanging sound of cups and teapot letting him know she placed them on the table. The room became deathly silent.

As Mariam took a step towards the door, in a swift motion Iliad sprang up fluidly and in one stride blocked the doorway with his slender, fit body. He grabbed her by the crook of her neck.

Mariam gasped. She froze, her eyes bulged out in fright as she gripped Iliad's strong wrist with both her hands. "Rayiys! What-please, I-I can't breath…" She clawed at his hand.

The anger on Iliad's face did not stop her from clawing at his hand. She needed air desperately and fear of dying in the painful grip was overwhelming, tears poured out of her eyes.

"Who are you?" Iliad asked fiercely.

Mariam furrowed her brows in confusion and shook her head once. "I-Its me, Mariam," she blurted out.

"No, you are not. I know my almusaeid and you are not her. Answer me!" Iliad bawled and made a waving motion across Mariam's face with his other hand. Mariam shrieked in pain as she transformed into a different person —an older woman.

Three sturdy men who were mutabieun to Iliad raced into the private study. They paused in shock as they witnessed the transformation of their dear friend Mariam into someone unknown to them.

"Please. Please don't kill me," the strange woman pleaded.

"Start talking!"

"I was sent. I-I don't do messy jobs so for the best start on my assignment, I put drops of deadly nightshade in your t-tea to paralyse you."

Iliad grinned like a Cheshire cat. "Agah sent you, correct?"

"I-I…" The strange woman started to convulse before she could disclose any information. Iliad let her go and the men watched as she fell on the floor, white foam flowing out of her mouth. She struggled to speak and after a moment grew still, her eyes wide open.

1615528867_16681.png

I hope you enjoyed reading my piece. This freewrite is inspired by the prompt "best start". Join the @freewriters community to receive daily prompts, hosted by @mariannewest. You are invited to participate.

Photo by Sammy-Sander from Pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency