5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: spring chicken

5_minutes_freewrite.png
Photo created by me in Canva

My daughter Ally's boyfriend is the typical teen movie cliché: perfect.

He's in college, plays 3 sports, and is athletic, too athletic. Sunday at the barbecue he invited me to run with them, I can't deny it, he's a nice guy, but as soon as he suggested it, Ally started laughing.

-No, Dad. Forget it. You don't have to go.

I was offended. She didn't think I could go jogging with them?

Ha! I was about to prove her wrong.

That morning I woke up early and got dressed in my sports clothes, I hadn't worn them in years. I remembered those days when I had no kids and no other responsibilities, I liked to take care of my body and exercise. I was that kind of man and I had the will, if I could support a family I could do anything.

I was wrong. I felt like I was dying, my lungs were failing, my leg muscles were trembling as I bent over my knees crying for air, my throat was closing up and my heart was racing and I thought I was going to have a heart attack.

-Are you all right, sr.?

-Are you sure you can go on, Dad?

Ally thought I couldn't keep up. Well, she was right. I left them there and walked half dead back to my house, I could almost hear my body insulting me and screaming at me for the evil I put it through.

I am not a spring chicken anymore.

_kehiryf.png

Imagen de mi propiedad creada en Canva

THANKS FOR READING!

Here is my previous story

450 después de Vega

Traducido con DeppL Traductor

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency