Weekend #Freewrite - 'Catching a Cheater' - 3 Prompts


Source


I took three prompts from this week's single prompt option which can be found here

For some reason I am unable to follow instructions and chose 3 instead of 1. I'm utterly hopeless it seems.

Anyway, the three prompts I chose are: 'So you said before', 'Hotel Room' and 'Gnarled Tree'

This one is a tad dialogue heavy. Thanks! Love to know what you think.


"I can't make a key for you because you're not registered."

The clerk's tone was abrupt and frustrated. Who knows how many times he's had this exact conversation.

"So you said before."

Kayle tapped her finger on the marble counter as she rethought her strategy.

"Can't you call him and get him to add me?"

"I've tried ma'am, it just goes to voicemail. Without hi-"

"--Without his permission you can't do jack, yeah I get it."

Kayle sighed rubbing her forehead.

"Can you at least give me the hotel room number?" She was close to pleading.

"No."

The clerk gave her a firm shake of the head.

"Why not?"

Kayle's tone became indignant.

"Franky, ma'am." He met her gaze, his tone flat.

"It's because you could be anyone." That was probably the wrong thing to say.

"Anyone!" Kayle shouted. "How dare you! I am his WIFE!"

The clerk was unmoved by her yelling, in fact he became stoic.

"I'm very sorry miss, I understand how frustrating this can be as I see it quite often."

He lifted his palms in a practiced sympathetic gesture.

"Guest privacy is our top priority, its unfortunate that our commitment to it can reveal these kinds of problems."

Kayle stared at him as her mind worked.

"It doesn't matter who you are, you're not registered, so I can't tell you anything or give you anything."

Something clicked in her mind. She recalled something from the photo he uploaded to his 'secret' Facebook account. A gnarled tree. The window from his room was directly in line with a horrid looking birchwood.

"Fine then." She feigned acquiessence. "Just give me my own room then."

"Certainly, miss. I just need I.D and a credit card."

Kayle opened her purse and pried free her driver's license. It was hard to get out on a normal day and near impossible during a hot one. Of course he'd need it out, it was almost a hundred degrees outside. Why wouldn't anything be easy for her? She had almost been arrested for failure to produce ID during a traffic stop about this time last year.

She reminded herself again that she needed a new wallet.

"Here you go." She said amid puffs of exertion. "Can I get one on the second floor with a garden view please?"

"Certainly ma'am."

The clerk's demanour soothed to its normal pleasentness, clearly glad to be performing a task he could actually carry out. Hotel workers don't like denying people things it seems.

A moment later he presented her with a form to initial and sign. She skimmed over it to make sure she wasn't signing her life away. A few of the terms made her eyebrow raise. Incidentals? What the heck did that mean? Oh well, no matter.

After she completed the form he handed her a set of keys in a neat little key packet.

"You'll be in the Riviera tower, room 2003 which overlooks the Wexler Gardens."

"Thank you." She said bowing to the clerk. "My apologies for the trouble, I'll try to catch him later on."

Catch him in the act, more like. Cheating bastard.


Thank you for reading!

Much love,

Simon.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency