Day 1738 : 5 minutes Freewrite : Tuesday - prompt : pilgrimage

img_0.47818304879855567
Source

I checked the flyer, the pilgrimage that comes once a year was fixed for next week. With interesting programs attached to it, well it has always been like that since I was little.
I always keep the flyers and never attend any.
Though there are little changes to it, making one anticipate for more lovely event.
I smiled to myself, I am free to go on the trip.
I didn't have the opportunity to do so all these years.
I was daddy's little girl until I married Tony, dad has always seen me as his little girl.
He just got to accept that I am grown, after I moved to live with Tony as married couples.
Even before our wedding dad was still protecting me like a kid, afraid of every single step I make.
I dare not travel far from home, I schooled in my house town.
Even when I was in the university, he never allowed me to live off campus nor stay in the school hostel.
He always drive me to school every morning, my lecture time table was on his desk.
My lovely dad didn't know that his protection was somehow suffocating.
Anyways I am driving myself to the pilgrimage, dad will be shocked when he hears it but he will just wish me safely nothing more. His girl is now a woman.
I will make sure I send him a message of how grateful I am for him teaching me how to drive, because I am certainly putting it to use now.

This short story is a five-minute freewrite inspired by the Tuesday Freewrite prompt: "pilgrimage". Join the @freewritehouse community to receive daily prompts, hosted by @mariannewest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency