Day 1706 : 5 minutes Freewrite : Friday - prompt : stainless steel

img_0.7848936006881868
Source

When I was little we only used stainless steel plates at home, to the extent that I thought that was the only plate in the world.
Not until we visited my Aunt one day, then I saw different plate types like breakable, glass, rubber, wooden and ceramics.
I was very awed, but she warned me to be careful with it because any little mistake will lead me to packing the pieces.
This got me scared that I refused to eat with the beautiful plates but requested for my stainless steel plates, she laughed and brought the food in the plate I wanted.
On getting home that day, I was so bold to ask my mom why we don't have nor use such plates at home.
She smiled and brought two baskets and a cover bucket containing different types of plate without any stainless steel plates.
I even saw cups and spoons that were not our regular stainless steel.
She explained that she cleared all the plates, when she noticed that my siblings the ones before me were breaking plates every single day at home.
Though she is training us on how to be careful with utensils that breaks easily, but kids are still kids no matter what.
She just came up with such method and it worked, so she continued with it.
I promised her to be careful with kitchen utensils,in other to change her method she just smiled and said okay.

This short story is a five-minute freewrite inspired by the Friday Freewrite prompt: "stainless steel". Join the @freewritehouse community to receive daily prompts, hosted by @mariannewest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency