This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

The open air restaurant

I was only nine, but I did not need a mage to tell me my mom was worn out from numerous bills. I grew up knowing she had always been a beautiful woman; however, since she lost her husband three years after I was born, she has remained a shadow of herself. She has been my mother, father, brother, sister, and friend—a complete package in one for me.

This particular hot afternoon, she dressed up in a simple but classy dress, a pink top on a black pant with black glasses, while I wore one of my few best shirts, a navy blue top on a jean. It was lovely seeing my mom dress for an outing, which she rarely does. Something was different about her; she had a sparkle on her face, and I suspected a man may be the reason behind that. She had devoted her life and time to running several jobs so she could pay bills and give us a comfortable life.

We got to a restaurant after taking two buses, and we arrived at the date venue. She did not have to take me along, but my facial expression told her I wished to go along with her, and I was glad she did not have a second thought. The restaurant was big, neat, and beautiful; it was attached to the famous Atlas Hotel, which was famous for its rich cultural diversity.

We sat in the open-air restaurant, which satiated my excitement both for an outing and the beautiful scenes. My mom met a young man in his late thirties, whom I later got to know his name as Greg. He was cool and jovial with us while both adults talked. While looking around, my gaze fell upon two cups of mixed ice cream with chocolate and strawberries. My tongue quickly salivated, and I spent a moment wishing I could have a taste.

![](Uploading... YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQ3zCuKvgrXjnTajfQbViyAdtGaf7kJZjLSyiRKiVjFmdjdPEm7Z4ZHXtm1fNNcMjeTFFSxkGs3TrhTmLbGsqhx5iGHwpdTxEBeJ1xFpydXxcfip6HHtYBG.jpeg)

PHOTO CREDIT BY @wakeupkitty

Not long after, our menu arrived, and mom made a choice for me. Perhaps she did not want to order the expensive meals as a courtesy. My excitement, however, peaked when the gentleman my mom was meeting ordered the same cups of mixed ice cream for us. I did not realize he had taken note of my gaze. With that alone, he won my heart.

What I see is a boy staring at two cups of mixed ice cream

What I feel is that he desires to have some ice cream

Thank you for reading. I would love to have your comments and contributions.