VIBGYOR - Short Story

Hello Everyone,
I hope you all are in good health.
Well, I always wanted to write a superhero-based story. I think I tried once before, And this is going to be my second attempt. Let's see how it goes.


Image Source

"This is wrong. This is so wrong." With this, I started wondering if I was the only one left in the group with a moral code. I started wondering if the room was dark because of the darkness inside us. Time was frozen. Minutes might have passed. But nobody said a single word. Telling Red that it is wrong.
"This is wrong." My voice was trembling with sadness.

"Do you have a better way? I am all ears. You know what he did and what he is capable of doing. He must be stopped." Red slammed his fist on the table. Flames burst out of his hand. Dimly lighting the room, enough to see the anger and sadness on the faces of my friends. Heated debates among us were common. But this one wasn't up for debate. I could tell that Blue and Green were in agreement.

Violet was silent. Hurt. She lost more than I did, She lost more than anyone in the room. I may never be able to understand why, but she was Ok with the idea. She was the one I always looked up to and now I can barely look into her eyes. How can I look into her eyes and say that things are going to be fine.

"Violet!!! If you do this everything will be undone. This is not the way to end things. VIOLET!!!" I screamed. But she kept quiet.

"Yellow was my friend too. He was like a brother to..." I tried but couldn't finish my sentence. "All I am asking you is to re-consider this. You don't have to become a monster to defeat one."
The silence engulfed the room again.

"Are you done?" The heavy voice of Black fell on my ears. The newest member of the group. "He is growing stronger every minute we waste discussing the moral codes." I never liked him. Things started changing ever since he showed up. I blame him for all this. But deep down I agree we must take action. "I say we move now. If we act now maybe we can save him, but I doubt if there is anything left to be saved."

Black's words enraged me. "Black is just saying the actual words, that we all are feeling", Red spoke after seeing my irritation from Black.

"I am out." I got up.
I sensed frustration from Green-the chatterbox, who hasn't said a single word ever since the funeral. Everyone is seeking vengeance.

The temperature dropped in the room. I could see my breath. It was Violet telling everyone to calm down. She could easily freeze me to the chair if she wanted to. But I think she just wanted my presence there. I returned back to my chair and started listening to them planning to abandon their morality and humanity.

Red explained the plan for the hundredth time. And for the hundredth time, it made me sick to the core.

"We are not going to have the same conversation, again and again, Indigo", Red asked me to keep my mouth shut.

"We are going to get a very small window maybe a fraction of a second to incapacitate him. Make no mistake, he was our friend once but no more."

"I will keep him distracted and the rest of you to disable him. I promise you nobody will get hurt." Red assured us, but after visiting Orange in a coma and Yellow's funeral, It was hard for us to believe.

"Blue, You transform into Ramsey before we get to Point A. You need to hold the transformation for at least 5mins. Don't waste too much energy, we are going to need every ounce of it." Blue nodded to Red's command.

"Indigo, You put on the shield over us and stay hidden." I wanted to protect everyone but sadly I have to choose people I love.

"Green, Black... You know what to do." No word's just nodding from them too.

"Violet, Freeze that bastard to bones. On your cue." Before Red could finish she was up and she removed her gloves.

"You guys be ready at site A. I will draw ..." the loud crash interrupted Red's command.

I could barely stand on.
What I witnessed was perhaps the very definition of helplessness. A monster wearing White's Uniform. Just staring at me.
"It's over. He killed Ramsey." Blue cried.
"You monster, You killed your ow..." Blue fell to the ground. His throat was in White's hand.
I tried casting a shield on myself. But was too late.
I was trying to save this monster.


Image Source

Well, that wasn't the ending I was expecting but my mind took me here.
I wanted to put a better showdown, But I think I will settle for this one.
Thank you everyone for your time and patience.

And a big thank you to IndiaUnited and BeAwesome discord group. There are many people who are just awesome and always willing to help and who keep encouraging me to write more.

My Previous Posts
Meet Bloque - Short Story
Let me eat - Short Story

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency