Meet Bloque - Short Story

Hello Everyone,
I hope you are in good health. And I am trying to make a comeback. Let's see how it goes. I mean It has been a while since I wrote something in this format. But let's give it a try.


Image Source

I waved at her as soon as she entered. She wasn't audible but I could see that she was apologizing.

"Sorry... sorry... sorry..." three quick sorries in a succession from her.
"Sorry, I am late. You know the traffic around here. How long you've been waiting?"

She pulled the chair for herself and tossed the bag on the chair next.

"It's no big deal, I am always early to such meet," I replied.
"Meetings? Oh come on!!! Don't be so formal." She poured herself a glass of water.

"Ummm, Well I can't label it as a date?" I hesitated a little to put the actual words there.

"Hahaha, This can't be a date because I am gay. Is it?" She replied acknowledging herself and my stupid choice of words.

"I am sorry, I didn't mean..."

"Come on man, I and just kidding, and don't be so formal. I am over it."

She cut me off and I was thankful for that otherwise I know myself very well and my troublesome quality of making things worse. I smiled.

"You are beautiful." I complimented her.
"Aww... Thank you." She acknowledged my compliment.

"I can't imagine how can he forgot to mention your beauty in the story." I genuinely wondered at the inuke's inability to describe her beauty.

"Hahahaha... Well, that's simple. He is a forgetful guy. That's all I can say. BTW how is he doing? I heard he got married and quit writing."

"Hahaha, Now those are two different things. The dude is going through some tough times, That is all. He is doing OK. I guess. I mean I haven't seen him write that often but I guess he has other things on his plates." I replied.

"Well Speaking of plates. I have nothing is on mine. And I was promised dinner." She pointed at her plate.
The waiter came and handed out the menus. We placed our for the starter and informed him that we will be taking time before ordering the main.

"Ok, we will get to him in a while. How are you?"

"I'd like to think that I am doing good." She smiled. "I mean, I still am looking for my career-defining role. But I am happy with what I have. I am currently working for an ad agency you know to pay the bills, and every now a then I get a call for an audition."

I liked her confidence. It's not easy to keep up a dream for years with the same level of energy. I could be wrong here.

"How is family?" And there I go again. Brillant, I distracted her from the topic that is painful with awkward. Good Job Plus Self Pat.

"Oh!! They are good. Mom calls me every now and then, To check if I am still gay." She cracked at her joke. "Dad and I are doing okay. He visited me here 2 months back. And Brother is busy with his own thing. So nothing really going on there much." She sounded Ok. And looked Ok too.
"You tell me, what brought you here?" She puts me in the hot seat.

"Well, It's complicated. But I will try my best to explain."
Like any other sales pitch, I started explaining to her the objective. And why she should be interested in the cause. I explained to her everything that is going on with inuke.

"That is the reason why I am here." I finished my pitch.
"Wow!! I never thought it would come to this. But I am glad that I made it to the inner circle. I will tell you what let me reach out to him and see what he is up to. You know nothing beats a good long talk with an old friend."

The waiter approached and started serving the dish.

"I agree. But I am new to this thing. That is why I came to you for help." I concurred with her.
"Wait. I could be wrong. Katla fry can beat a long talk with a friend. Hahaha. Wanna try?"
The light mood returned.
"Eka plate Katla bhaji." She ordered the strange-sounding dish.

"I am still not able to understand why did inuke named you bloque? Is that german?"
I pulled out my phone typed in a quick google search and showed her the obvious reason.
She started laughing at the irony that I am the rescue.


Image Source

Thank you for your time and patience.
For those who are still lost at Bloque, It is Spanish for Block. And yes, I am trying to get back in the game. And with the support of the friends from IU and BeAwesome it would different story.


image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency