Jinxed Boiling | A 5-Minute-Freewrite

We have been anticipating that things will boil over for so long that I think we have jinxed it.

Source

We have been anticipating that things will boil over for so long that I think we have jinxed it.

It’s not gonna happen. Period (of course I want to be wrong). I want to be wrong so badly, that I’d be more than willing to bet every penny I have so that I can lose that bet. If my losing that bet means that my country will finally win, I’d be more than happy to oblige.

Not that I have much to bet, anyways.

We thought things would boil over when 20,000 employees from the main oil company of the region were fired. After that, every single trigger that might have made the shit hit the fan has happened without much ado.

A miniscule increased in gas prices meant the demise of Carlos Andrés Perez back in 89. Now, not only do drivers have to pay prices in dollars (higher than anywhere else in the world when you make the minimum wage-gas price comparison), but they have to sleep in lines that may last for days on end. Sometimes, they are told that there won’t be any gasoline for anybody, after hundreds of “anybodies” have been waiting for days to get at least half their tanks filled.

Things are “boiling over,” people say about alleged unrest in the military ranks after so many abuses and corruption, and yet last week, a former minister of defense died after more than a decade of unjustified incarceration and abuses.

Nothing happened. Two of his sons are also behind bars or persecuted. Many other high-ranking officials have been imprisons without a trial, some have been tortured to death, and still things do not reach their boiling point.

If nothing happens after really bad shit have been done to formerly important people, what can the average Joe expect?

We drool at things boiling over in other places because of sex scandals, corruption, a tik-tok video or a change of weather. I guess social water boils better in other climates.


This was my entry to @mariannewest and @latino.romano’s 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday Prompt: boiling over. You can see the details here.

Thanks for stopping by and reading.

Make sure you visit the Freewrite House!!!

Freewrite House.jpg

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Hive gif 2.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency