Last Sorceress: Detention - Prologue (Luna's POV)

My first fantasy story on HIVE. šŸ˜ My plan is to share a chapter every few days.

Basic Summary
Everything changes when Luna finds out sheā€™s the last living witch. And things get even weirder when she gets detention. The next thing she knows she and 4 other kids are taken to a place for the last of different kinds of magical creatures. Now she must learn all about magic and who she is while keeping a low profile at her actual school. But danger lurks around every corner, and you must be careful with what you say...

Laravel Greatest Trick Revealed: Magic Methods - DEV Community

I am not a normal person. I never was, and never will be. I live in a time with fearless knights, greedy dragons, powerful queens, and rich dwarves. It was a hard land to live in, but it was my time.

If you're wondering who I am, then Iā€™ll tell you. My name is Luna. Luna Newmoon. Iā€™m sixteen and the smartest girl in my class. Iā€™m not very athletic, but I make up for that with my brains. If you are kind to me, then I trust you. If you're not, then you might be in danger. You see, Iā€™m a witch. A sorceress. Itā€™s hard being one, but you get used to it. If you feel like you're like me, then be careful. Your life will never be the same. Try to live a normal life. But if youā€™ve already been attacked by a powerful queen or sorcereress or even dragon, then this book might help you. If that is the case, or you think itā€™s fiction, read on. If you want to hear my story, then I will tell you it.

I guess it all started when I was born. I was born to my single mother, a very kind woman named Renee. She died after giving me my name, Luna. I grew up in an orphanage. Just another orphan with no future. I lived my life thinking I was nothing. Just the girl no one would adopt. Boy, was I wrong. About the Iā€™m nothing part, at least. I was never adopted. I tried. I really did! I was kind to all of the people who came in, even if they were horrible to me or others. But no matter what I did, they would leave with some other kid or no one at all. When I turned 10, I left. I wasnā€™t adopted. My heart couldnā€™t take it anymore. I had to find a person who loved me for me, and that place couldnā€™t do that for me. And thatā€™s when I met Logan. He helped me. Let me live in his home. We became friends. My first friend. I still remember the day we met.

close-up silhouette portrait mysterious girl pouring Stock Footage Video  (100% Royalty-free) 29729551 | Shutterstock

I was standing outside in the pouring rain. I was soaking wet. My jacket wasnā€™t helping, it was too light. I was sitting on the sidewalk. It was cold. My shoes were soggy. I started to cry. I couldnā€™t do this. I had been on the streets for a month, and no day had been this horrible. A horse carriage went by, splashing me. I cried harder. ā€œHey, do you need help,ā€ A boy said. He had messy brown hair and bright green eyes. I nodded. He helped me up and let me under his umbrella. ā€œIā€™m gonna help you, ok,ā€ he said. ā€œWhatā€™s your name? Whereā€™s your parents?ā€ ā€œI have no parents. My name is Luna,ā€ I said. ā€œLogan.ā€ He took me in. And I was so happy. We became best friends.

After about a year I decided to leave, but said Iā€™d visit. I stayed in the village and found an abandoned house. It was more like a cottage. Moss grew on the side of it. The stones were rough. The grass on the ground was more like weeds, weeds that seemed to be by my knees. A little well stood about a foot from the cottage, but the bucket wasnā€™t attached. This place was definitely a fixer upper. I loved it. The first time I saw it I smiled. I opened the wooden door with a loud creak and closed it. The inside was much more impressive. A long table lay on one side with two chairs. On the wall was an oven that always smelled like burning coal, but the scent seemed to sooth me like lavender would to others.

Pin by UserKyler on Homes i love | Stone cottages, Small house, Stone  cottage

Upstairs there was a small bed. It was super comfy, with purple blankets, off-white pillows, and light blue sheets. A small desk was in the corner of the room, with a chair next to it. I took out my few belongings, a notebook and pencil and a bit of comfy clothes(and a water bottle!) and put them down on the desk. I smiled. I was home.

Years passed. I have been living there for 6 years. Iā€™m now 16. I guess thatā€™s where my story really begins. The day that I turned 16. Everything changed for me and Logan, and maybe even the whole town. You're probably yelling at this book, saying GET ON WITH IT, and I will, in a moment. I just need to make this clear.

Iā€™m special. Thatā€™s the only thing people ever knew about me. They didnā€™t want to know more. The only people who will or would would be people like me, but they're none like me. At least none as powerful. And, the biggest thing about me is that Iā€™m not just any sorceress. Iā€™m the last of my kind. Iā€™m the last sorceress. And this is my story...

Hope you enjoy the prologue and come back to read future chapters. I am open to feedback and constructive criticism since this is just a draft.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency