Wrong Offender?

handcuffs-964522__480.webp
Source

Sobbing

"Why did you kill your husband?"

"I didn't kill him, It wasn't me I swear!"

The detective, infuriated and frustrated, left the interrogation room by slamming the door behind him.

"She is not breaking, what do we do?" sergeant Thompson asked.

"Honestly, I have no idea" detective Carlos blurted out.

"she has a strong alibi for where she was this morning and within the next 24hrs, if we don't find out the truth, she will walk out of here a free woman" Thompson said

"But what if she is not the killer?"Carlos questioned.

"Carlos, she's lying and you know it!" Thompson exclaimed.

He sighed "Ok ok, let's try and calm down" He took a deep breath before continuing.

"She can't be our only suspect" Carlos said

Thompson raised an eyebrow at him "Remember she was arrested as soon as the police arrived, how could you possibly explain how she was found holding the weapon used to kill her husband?"
he stated.

"We still need to look for any other evidence we might have missed out" Carlos replied."*

"No! We've already checked over every inch of the crime scene, her fingerprints were all over the place and nothing has been found! There is no way she is innocent" Thompson interrupted with an aggressive tone in his voice.

"I have a feeling that something fishy is going on?" Thompson walked away, but Carlos stayed and watched Jessica, the offender sternly. He then whispered to him, 'this woman is scared, but still in shock and has no idea of how she killed her husband. Something is not right. So he left with his thoughts to the forensic department to further question their findings.

Getting there, he met Steve, the forensic personnel who spearheaded the evidence investigation.

"Steve, please I want you to cross-check Jessica's DNA again. I feel we might have missed something" Carlos pleaded.

"Carlos, I don't have time for this! Unless you would go with me back to the crime scene and protect me in case of anything. I can't die now, my wife is pregnant" Steve said

"Alright, It is done and I owe big time"

A Few minutes later…

Carlos and Steve arrived at the crime scene. As they stepped into Jessica's home, they heard a smashing sound. Carlos placed his index finger on his mouth to gesture for Steve to be quiet. Sternly and quietly approaching where the sound came from, they saw a woman wearing a black hoodie in the kitchen.

"Police! Freeze!" Carlos called out.

The woman spun around, her hoodies fell off and there was a brief silence. Carlos, in swift action, went after her as the mystery woman made a run for it. Running after the mystery woman, Carlos brought out his teaser and teased her. Shaking from the shock, the mystery woman fell on her stomach and Steve assisted Carlos in putting her in cuffs. They arrived at the precinct later on and Steve immediately took her DNA for further investigation.

"Prepare a line-up for Mrs. Jessica Parker. We have another suspect." Carlos instructed some police officers. Jessica was then brought to identify who the newly found suspect is. "Are you ready?"Thompson asked her. "Yes I am" Stepping into the line-up room, Jessica gasped. "Omg! S-she, s-she is a spitting image of me."

"Do you know her?" Carlos asked

"No. I was adopted when I was little so I couldn't have known I had an identical twin sister." Jessica said.

Knock Knock

Steve came into the line-up room and said, "I have concluded testing her DNA and I found a match. She is the killer of Mr. Parker. She is the suspect we have been looking for."

Relief washed over Jessica and at the same time, there was grief in her heart. Looking at her twin through the see-through glass she thought back to her last memory with her husband and she realized that her husband was gone forever.

mXkfdToSwHy1F6xC7iNSf4gD4njuiH2TJnH2d9a7sjEgsxpt7CEU4CDLL7mP9zQRVVSzCik54u9BzkowKWMTJGsSmkpZb2759qFbBrSDc.png
Inspired by "It wasn't me" by at @mariannewest with freewrite community. Follow her for more prompts daily.

Thank you for visiting my blog, hope you enjoy the story. 🤗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency