ROMANCE WITH UBER: The series (Part 2

TRIP TO STRIP


grace3mr1.jpg
Photo

With brows arched, the effect was clearly visible on Oscars expression as she held her gaze steadfast piercing every bit of defence poor Oscar had. He was mummified. His eyes widening with each passing seconds almost becoming as wide as hers.

Boy!!! I'd hate to be Oscar right now, i cursed under my breath.

Her voice wasn’t regular, she sounded like an "On Air Personality", i almost wanted to ask but i wasn't sure if right now was a good idea plus i didn't want to be a victim again.

The rest of the trip to the hotel was quiet with me looking out the window and asking myself " is this it"? Are we just going to go down with tails cowed between our legs?

No way!!! This is a challenge and its game on.

It was a 20 minutes drive and we were at Ozumba Mbadiwe road in Lekki. Thanks to the god of traffic for smiling on us we had a freeway.
3282600_orig.jpg
Photo

5 minutes more and our Uber was pulling up in the driveway of the exotic Hotel Le Méridan.
The boys were beginning to gain their composure back. The sights of scintillating slay queens skirting the vicinity was enough motivation for anyone to totally ignore the savage personality behind the wheels. As soon as the car came to a halt Oscar had jumped down. Malik joined him almost immediately, I guess they needed that freedom the vast space outside gave him, who wouldn’t?

I want to wait this one in the car, you both go on without me and don’t be too long.

I was going round the car to take Oscar’s seat in front next to our hired bully. The look I got from the duo was a final farewell sympathy for a deceased friend. I didn’t want to beat the conversion any further so I just hopped in and closed the door.

You must be the brave one.

I had barely settled in and she was firing away. Who is this woman? Where is this confidence coming from? Why is she so fiercely protective?

Are we at war? I answered.
She open her mouth to banter more but I cut her short.
Olabode Oguntunde.

What?

You’re at war with Olabode Badmus Oguntunde, O.B.O for short.

I said with a wide grin exposing my white enamels.

And what I said back on the road was intended a compliment not insult.

She had removed her gaze from me now focusing on the bare windshield. I knew she felt guilty of misunderstanding me and I was going to pull that thread of guilt.

You seemed not to be having a great day, or is it on rare occasions you get to pick up passengers like me with a weird way of complimenting women?

A smile creased her lips separating the painted lips apart. A slight dimple appeared on her cheek and there she was right before my eyes, a complete goddess.

It's not you… I’m sorry I was a bit hard earlier. Now you must think of me as uptight.

Well, you did give the boys an impression.

She smiled more and the dimples became more visible. Few minutes later and this tyrant had disclosed too of herself much. We talked about her days in university and as a Youth corp member now into estate management. I also got to know that her name was Sonia.
As she went on I kept on wondering how I’d tell her I was still serving as a corp member but that was the least of my worries. She had focused more on achievements she barely spoke about being in a relationship.

“How long has it been?”

I blurted.

She gave me the what are you talking about look.

You’ve been going on and on about school, work and more work now you feel like a hustler, a career woman that needs to achieve this or that to be complete. But you’re a woman with needs, how long has it been since you've had your needs met?

How dare you?

Sonia was celestial when flirting, light as a cat while Chatting but a majestic bully in her tyranny suit. You could feel your essence leave your soul and body scampering for shelter from the intimidating ambiance she casts. However, instead of being upset and utterly angry this pretty being was embarrassed. “Did I see through her, was that my queue?”

Wow that long eh?

She rolled her eyes and adjusted her shoulders trying to nudge away from me though she didn’t move a bit. Now she’s going to play defensive.

Mr, I think I’ve gone too far into this conversation and now we’re crossing lines. Could we just go back to being…

I still do not know how I did it or how the courage summed up but in split seconds I had stretched to her side of the wheel and our lips were locked. She pushed and pulled away from me. Her eyes weren’t so wide anymore but misty with dilating pupils. The hands she pushed me with was trembling. At crossroads with herself she didn’t know whether to pull me closer or push me away. She wanted the first but I was a stranger, a stranger she had authority some few moments ago and now that power had been sapped away and now she was feeling helpless.

At an instant she looked away, as if the figure pressed in front of her was matter of seduction.
As if queued on a movie set, the boys interrupted. Malik and Oscar had returned and were gross deep into a conversation. The rest of the journey was between Malik and Oscar, although they tried to feel me in on the happenings inside the establishment but I wasn’t paying attention. All I asked was, “have we booked the dancer?”, their reply was affirmative.


THE PARTY


images 20.jpeg
Photo

The party was on flick, we the organizers did a fantastic job we should be proud of. The disc jockey was doing so well, enough booze to go around. The dancer had begun with the tease before the main event and the dudes urging her on. You could tell everyone was having a swell time. Henry would occasionally turn to give me thumbs up for a job well done since I had refused to join the gang at our reserved spot.

Would she make it? She could have called at least. Well maybe she’s even forgotten about this afternoon. Or maybe too angry, after all I did go too far. Let’s just face it, she isn’t coming.

While in the car, I had slipped Sonia my phone number in a short note with an invitation to the birthday party. Before now, I was sure she’d call but thinking about it now I realized I’m just a stranger and she was transacting business. Nah, she isn’t coming, I should just go home. This isn’t my day, I hope Henry doesn’t get offended.

I was heading towards the boys to break the news of my premature exit, I heard my phone chime.

Na who be this one na?

I cursed under my breath thinking it was the regular series of annoying messages from my telecom company. I pulled the phone out and the message read…

TEXT ME YOUR YOUR HOUSE ADDRESS.from Sonia.

...TO BE CONTINUED


2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnFrHS9vMbF3P4fZx.png

Thank you for reading.
Don't be a stranger, I would like to hear from you. Please drop your feedbacks in the comments section. Hit the Follow button for current posts.
Big thank you to @stellabelle and @ewkaw for being such huge role models. @hivepeople for the delegated HP and to @freewriteshouse for this community of writers thank you so much.

Read also: ROMANCE WITH UBER: The series, part 1

© 2020
INTELLECTUAL RIGHTS RESEARVED
Social Media handles
FACEBOOK, TWITTER,

This post was published on Hive.io blockchain.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency