5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: bookmark

B O O K M A R K

1669398630123.jpg Source: Private document

As someone who is ever active in the book-lover community. I often get new books. That's because I also write reviews about books I read.

Most of the new books I get are from publishers. They gave it after the review I wrote was published in the newspaper. As a form of appreciation because I have promoted their products.

Among the books I got, most of them were complete with bookmarks. There are very few books that don't have bookmarks. The goal is definite so that readers can easily remember which page they are reading. As a marker.

On every bookmark I get. The design is often similar to a book cover. Especially, if the color of the book is pink, then the bookmarks are also the same color. Likewise, if the color of the book cover is blue or something else. Always have an aligned design.

Some of the bookmarks that I got also look seriously designed. At that time, it was a bookmark from a novel by Ary Nilandari, an Indonesian writer. That is the picture of the character in the novel. They should design covers and bookmarks differently. Don't just cut it.

But sometimes some publishers give random bookmarks. Sometimes only give stickers that contain motivational words. It has nothing to do with the book that was sent.

For me, bookmarks are not so important. It's just paper used to mark books. No more. I don't think about bookmarks. Many of the bookmarks that I have are not maintained and just disappear.

But I'm also not a person who likes to fold books to mark them.
Then I was surprised by the other friends. Why do they love bookmarks so much? Some of them seem like bookmarks are items that must be maintained and owned. I haven't been able to get this answer.

Maybe because I pay less attention to art? So that I consider bookmarks only as goods? Hmmm ..., it seems there is something wrong with me? Or not?

But clearly, this is not something that needs to be debated at length. Because it depends on how we react to it and also our individual tastes. Everyone can love bookmarks more than they love themselves. Vice versa. People can also be indifferent and even hate bookmarks.

Then how about you? Do you think that bookmarks should be taken care of properly?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency