Ferrari: It's worth seeing

skiddlypoodiddlyhomillyopperspidderackenerwoppr (2).jpg

I have yet to meet anyone quite so stubborn as myself and animated by this overpowering passion that leaves me no time for thought or anything else. I have, in fact, no interest in life outside racing cars.

- Enzo Ferrari -

Above image taken in the Ferrari Museum, Maranello, Italy by me.



Last weekend was a pretty nice one for me; I could possibly say nothing momentous happened, just simple things and those that engaged me better with life and my partner, but I guess that's actually pretty momentous right? I needed it after a challenging week and the weekend delivered exactly that.

In another post I wrote that I'd not share too much about my weekend but I wanted to mention this move I saw at the cinema called Ferrari, starring Adam Driver (Enzo Ferrari), Penélope Cruz (Enzo's wife) and Shailene Woodley (Enzo's mistress) and many others which I have been eagerly anticipating, being a huge car, motor racing and Formula One fan.

skiddlypoodiddlyhomillyopperspidderackenerwoppr (1).jpeg

Above image of me and a girl taken in the Ferrari Museum by a friend - Maranello, Italy

Because I've watched Formula One racing since the age of nine, forty five years or so, I know a lot about it and the players, not least of which is Ferrari.

I have visited and toured the Ferrari factory and museum in Maranello, Modena, Italy, and drove one of their amazing vehicles around the place there (F430 Spyder) and have read countless books on the Scuderia, the company and the founder himself. He was a complicated man, driven to succeed, never content with average or even above average so drove for continual improvement and one who, I think tragically, never seemed satisfied with much at all, his own life included. I was curious to see how the movie conveyed that, and the man generally, and how Adam Driver would bring it together in a way I would relate to considering the vast amount of information I have about the man who was Enzo Ferrari.

I have no complaints about the movie, it was excellent, and I'm looking forward to it coming to my PayTV stream so I can see it again, and probably again.

skiddlypoodiddlyhomillyopperspidderackenerwoppr (1).jpg

Above image taken in the Ferrari Museum, Maranello, Italy by me.

It's complex, or so I found it, because of what I knew already I guess but it was still enjoyable to watch, entertaining and, for me, quite thought-provoking.

It's not a "life and times of Enzo Ferrari' movie at all, it starts when he's around sixty years old in the late 1950's and and clearly demonstrates the challenges, successes and monumental stress the man would have been under from the early days and through the rise of Ferrari to the most lofty of heights. It also hit home to me the amazing changes and development the man saw and was a part of considering e was born in 1898. He was, quite simply, the king of that industry and, as William Shakespeare said in his play, Henry IV Part 2, "uneasy is the head that wears a crown'." The dizzying heights Enzo and his organisation rose to certainly took a terrible toll upon the man himself.

Overall, I'd suggest the movie is certainly one worth seeing. It was well put together, easy to watch and enjoyable...don't mind Adam Driver's questionable Italian accent though, it doesn't detract from the enjoyment factor at all.


These days, I struggle to find much of substance in movies that have AI written scripts, CGI glitz and actors brought in for their marketability rather than their acting skills. They seem hollow, made to target a lucrative market space rather than being made for the sake of the art or story; I guess money talks right? CGI movies get all the attention; movies like Oppenheimer, Ex Machina, Boy with the Striped Pyjamas, The Danish Girl, Testament of Youth and many, many others play second fiddle to such drivel as Aquaman, Fast and Furious, and Marvel movies that, whilst possibly mildly entertaining, are quite forgettable once seen.

Anyway, I recommend Ferrari as a movie worth watching if you're looking for something with a little more depth and a well directed, shot and acted film.

I wonder what you may have seen recently that you liked. What attracted you to it, how did you feel about it afterwards and why? Feel free to comment below if you're inclined.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own - Ferrari Museum, Modena, Italy
The photos are quite shit. I had a shit camera at the time and I'm a shit photographer.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
50 Comments
Ecency