Artist Mistakenly Accused of AI Art on X

Here's a recent issue that passed by on my X feed because it was retweeted by another artist I already follow.

TL:DR of the Issue:

An artist quote RT another artist commenting on how their works were AI generated and the artist responds proving they were wrong.

The succeeding thread below shows their art process.

I bookmarked the posts made by the person that made the rude quote retweet but didn't screenshot it. In hindsight I kind of foreseen that they'll private their posts due to the ongoing harassment other people have come to their artist's aid. But the gist of their posts in response of the call out were

  1. I'm sorry for making the mistake and if it makes you feel any better, I've deleted the post.
  2. I didn't know this post would blow up like this. I was just quote retweeting into the void and didn't expect someone would take my post seriously with a large following.

That's how I interpreted their responses and obviously it's better to read the actual responses to make your own call about the situation but they have set their accounts to private so not much can be done there.

The comment sections in support of the artists we filled with comforting words and harsh feedbacks to the other artist that made the remark.

Both artists were against AI.

What rubbed me wrong was how confident the person was pointing out on the error made by the artists that indicated it was AI made, when I viewed the art, I didn't think it was AI, because perspective, style, lighting and angle weren't something I've previously seen AI works do but this judgment came from the unconscious level after seeing so many AI generated images, it's more easy for me to tell which is real without process shots.

There will likely be a time where AI got so good and one of the ways to prove you're legit not using them outside reputation is showing the process videos/shots. I've seen some AI artists do a mix of both where they lay out the foundations and let the AI do the coloring with them doing the finishing touch ups, I think this is more acceptable than inputting prompts and let the AI do most of the work.

AI generated art has some use if you want to draw out some inspiration in my biased opinion but it's another story if you use it for commercial purposes. Generating AI art to put it on your reference or idea board is a way to use the tech because it's just personal practice.

I didn't want to dwell the post on what actually happened. I encourage you to visit the post shared here to decide for yourself.

I also do not encourage adding more gas to the artists involved. The artist that was forced to private their account already had several people harassing them. I only had pity for the artist as they should've considered the impact of what they were screaming off the void before making the post and now this incident will haunt them for the rest of their art career unless they fly under the radar on a different handle.

This is mob culture and cancellation at work and I don't think it's healthy because despite the artist learning their lesson and admit fault, you still have people hounding over them for the issue long term.

Thank you for your time.


My other social media pages: DeviantArt, Instagram, X, and Facebook

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency