My Newest Work, IDEA MACHINE is Featured on Makersplace Today: Bidding Starts at 7 PM PST!

MP_IDEAMACH.jpg

This is a big day for me as this is the very first feature on Makersplace and my art had to go through the approval process in order to be accepted.

What this means is that my art will appear on the main page of the Makersplace website, which means it will get more eyeballs.

IdeaMachineLow.gif

IDEA MACHINE

1/1

Makersplace
Open for Bids

šŸ’Ž To place a bid on IDEA MACHINE, go here: https://makersplace.com/stellabelle/idea-machine-1-of-1-34829/

The Process of Making IDEA MACHINE

This animation is made entirely by painting still images then combining them all together. I first began this animation with some artificial intelligence and two brains which I colored pink and purple.

It's interesting to note that the original inspiration for the head material is artificial intelligence. I use Artbreeder to get patterns and new landscape materials, and this was used for the head:
artbreederpurple.jpeg

So as you can see the outline of a skull just appeared to me in this artbreeder image. I just drew what poppped out at me. I can't remember why I chose to add two large brains in the background though. But that was the next step.

In the original first draft of this work, I had added kitten feet, which then I decided to replace with the hand-drawn mechanical arms, which was much easier for me to animate. This is all done by hand on the computer, which means that each frame is drawn out in Gimp.

monsters.JPG

I found some wings on a websearch then ended up redrawing them completely, and adding new details to them. I also decided to add lines (representing neurons) connecting all the little brains together. A friend on Twitter suggested that I make this into animation, which I had pretty much decided to do. So I began to think about what message I wanted to convey.

I ended up redrawing the lips and finding better teeth, and then adding lots of fish eggs too. I added highlights then began to draw freely around the mouth (don't ask me to explain this part, as it's mostly a subconscious process).

Here's one of the close-ups:

idea_head.jpg

That is when I realized I was painting an IDEA MACHINE.

Watch my video that describes the meaning in detail:

The animating part of this work is its own beast. I had to previsualize how I wanted everything to move then I draw in each new movement. Here are some still images of the paintings:

THEIDEA16.jpg

THEIDEA20.jpg

I'm sure there is maybe an easier way to do animation, but this way is how I taught myself, using Gimp. So in a way, I am fine with it. I want to get 3D animation software soon too though, and be able to do more amazing animations that are dying to get out of my mind.

BTW, the idea that has wings and sits on top of the person's head is the idea that she decided to nurture.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did making it!

Cheers,
Stellabelle

Check out my #Top5NFT video show on Twitter: https://twitter.com/stellabelle

My cryptoart:
cryptovoxels: https://www.cryptovoxels.com/play?coords=S@101W,172S
Rarible: https://app.rarible.com/stellabelle/onsale
Makersplace: https://makersplace.com/stellabelle/
NFT Showroom: https://nftshowroom.com/stellabelle/gallery

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency