About series that never were

A few days ago I took down from a small deposit I have, a canvas of 90 x 143 cm. I don't have much work in large format (this one is not so big either), I usually paint in medium formats, up to 100 cm on each side.
The point is that it was a painting that I never finished, from a series that I never continued, haha. I have many ideas that have fallen by the wayside. It must be quite common among artists. In my case I think one of the reasons is that I can be so lazy that many times the enthusiasm of that idea passes me by, and then I don't feel like carrying it out. But, well, it also happens to me that those ideas remain circling in my head and reappear months, even years later, the same or transformed into something else, but with some trace of what it once wanted to be.
This little painting is done, in my opinion, in a kind of rudimentary way. Not badly, but I think it could have been done better.
The idea of PURGE, of SCREAM, of bringing out that which is eating away at us from the inside, is here transformed into this image. There's some ambiguity about whether the bird is coming out or if it's going in 'through the mouth. I like it haha, and the truth is that I don't even know what it's doing (and if I did I wouldn't say).
I belatedly named it " In between the teeth". I don't always want to think so deeply about things. Enjoy

  • Hace unos días bajé de un pequeño depósito que tengo, un bastidor de 90 x 143 cm. No tengo mucha obra en gran formato (tampoco este es tan grande), suelo pintar en formatos medianos, de hasta 100 cm de lado.
    La cuestión es que era una pintura que nunca terminé, que era de una serie que nunca proseguí, jaja. Tengo muchas ideas que han quedado en el camino. Debe ser bastante común entre los artistas. En mi caso creo que uno de los motivos es que puedo ser tan perezosa que muchas veces se me pasa de largo el entusiasmo de esa idea, y luego ya no me dan ganas de llevarla a cabo. Pero bueno, también me sucede que esas ideas quedan dando vueltas en mi cabeza y reaparecen meses, incluso años después, iguales o transformadas en alguna otra cosa, pero con algún rastro de aquello que alguna vez quiso ser.
    Esta pequeña pintura está realizada, en mi opinión, de manera algo rudimentaria. No mal, pero creo que podría haberla hecho mejor.
    La idea de PURGA, de GRITO, de sacar al exterior aquello que nos está horadando por dentro, aquí se transformó en esta imagen. Hay cierta ambigüedad acerca de si el pájaro está saliendo o si está entrando ´por la boca. Me gusta jaja, y la verdad es que ni yo sé qué está haciendo (y si lo supiera no lo diría).
    Tardíamente le puse el nombre “Entre los dientes”. No siempre quiero pensar tan profundamente las cosas. Disfruten.

2017 media png.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now