Art intro post - Some digital art I've created over the years

img_1881.jpg

So I've always loved all types of art and would love to learn more about drawing, digital art, and creating in general. Unfortunately, my art skills have always been put on the back burner for my 4000 other hobbies and interests.

I've been on Hive for about two months now and mainly post about my travels, Splinterlands, video games, 80s movies, and photography. I figured now is as good a time to share some of my digital works over the years. I'll try and keep up with the posts and add some stories and flavor to future posts about my art.

For now, here's a small selection of what I've been working on over the years.

Want to listen to music to set the mood? Here's something that I would listen to while creating the artwork mentioned below

A Little Background

While I'll probably never be able to draw more than a stick figure action scene, I have had some success with digital art. Especially with abstract imagery and mandalas.

1518221552197.jpg

After late-night DJ shows and even later night after-parties, I would spend time on my Android Tablet or phone messing around with countless digital art apps.

img_0457.jpg

Some of the apps ended up being perfect for those early AM times after a long psychedelic adventure. Coming down, while listening to the deepest Vaporwave and meditating became a weekend tradition for a while and it gave me plenty of time to find inspiration.

1.jpg

Mandalas

Color Touch Free and Radial are two of the best apps I've found for creating the base of the image. These two apps will help you create a startling and mindbending mandala or kaleidoscope image in minutes.

picsart_03_07_09.12.10.jpg

I would use PicsArt or a bunch of random image editing programs to add finishing touches to digitally manipulate them.

20180307_104459.png

Chaos Sigils

The apps also allowed me to get more creative with sigils. For the initiate, a sigil in Chaos Magick is basically a drawing that has some kind of intent behind it. You charge the sigil through various means and release it. I find sigils a great way to meditate and to set goals for myself.

If you've never tried a sigil, give it a shot. Don't worry, you won't summon a demon unless you want to.

20180328_085849.png

Digital Photo Manipulation

If you've read any of my other posts, you probably realize I take a TON of pictures. Digital art gives me another outlet and allows me to manipulate my photos into abstract works of art.

img_0436.jpg

3.jpg

Thanks for Reading!

I appreciate anyone who takes time out of their day to read my ramblings. If you would like to learn more about the apps I use or Chaos Magick, don't hesitate to contact me. I am more than happy to help.

Also if you have any advice on how to get better at being an artist, I am all ears. As I said, my biggest problem is the time since I always get caught up in many different hobbies and interests. But I would like to allow more time for creating in the future.

I'll try and keep up with the art-related posts as well.

A little about me...

Currently based in Siem Reap, Cambodia, I'm a solo-traveling digital nomad. Due to the pandemic, I've been living in Siem Reap for almost 2 years now. While I'm hoping to get back on the road soon, I'm not in a rush.

I'd love to connect with other travelers, digital nomads, gamers, or residents of Cambodia. Don't hesitate to say hi or send me an upvote!

You can learn more about me and my company at OneZen.me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency