This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Week 224 | My Splinterlands Art Contest Entry | Axemaster!

Let's be legendary! 🎇

Oh, it is reality time! The holiday is over. 🙄 Also, I noticed that I lose some weight perhaps that was the holiday food exiting my body, haha! Anyway~ In this entry, I want to do something out of the box. I want to make a character that is on his off day. What I understand is, when a character is on an off day, they change their clothing to casual or do something that they do not normally do when they are in character mode. I saw some artists do this, like @shineko009's entry before.

I chose Axemaster for this week's entry!

image.png
Source


axemaster2.png

My concept for this art is, Axemaster is on a roof deck overlooking the range of buildings. In the background are colorful fireworks. Maybe he is on a date? HAHA! Eh ~ I would totally date this character.

Ehem~ Back to the drawing board. My references are multiple pictures of Korean pop stars, specifically BTS. 🤣 Who is your bias, though? Their pictures are so perfect for reference. It is amazing that even fancams has very good angles of pictures.

The character is just wearing a blue tux. I used a blue pencil to draw the character and then red for the background.

errr... I forgot to put my logo here. My bad.


axemaster3.png

axemaster4.png

The base colors are color-picked from the first picture. Sometimes, it is hard to get the "true" color because of the shadings. So what do I do, I adjust the color in the color wheel. The color of the tux is also color-picked from the original picture. For the sleeves, I chose an off-white color. Ehhh, sometimes if I put the sketch in invisible, I got discouraged by my lineart HAHA! 🤣 Let me know if you feel this too!

For the background, I use the default night sky from the tools. I used the gradient to have the ombre effect on the sky.

Used a thicker pencil for the balcony railing. To make a straight light, press shift and then drag the line. I am imagining this is like the posh balcony 🤣. I added a blurry, translucent glass in between the railings.

Ahh~ the fireworks. Fireworks are so cool but they just last for a couple of seconds. Also, it is terrifying haha! It is just me imagining that I will get blasted by it. I used a downloaded firework brush and airbrush glow. I adjusted also the glowiness on this part.


axemaster5.png

More and more fireworks! Wahooo! How I wish this is how many fireworks I saw last New Year. 🤣 I added more of the shower fireworks like the broken lines.

Make them glow by using another filter layer. In the center of the fireworks, I airbrushed more of the yellow glow.

On the character, I put more shades, especially on the suit. Ugh, up until this day, I still need to practice more of the shadings, well kind of everything.

Also, do you guys have a line art pen recommendation? It seems like forever for me to look at what I want, haha! Well, I am exploring this, and I love the process of it. 😌


Final art~

axemaster1.png

I think I am overusing the glow now. 🤣 Well, isn't that how fireworks are? For the final art, I put more shadows on the hair. Noticed that I also put hard glows to appear as the light bounced on the hair. On the edge of the character, I lighten it up a bit. I also put a multiply layer on the top and set it to 50% opacity.

The orb is a downloaded brush for the Clip Studio Asset. Sorry, I am not an orb expert artist. 🤣

Tadaaa~ Axemaster on an off day is done! 🥰


Software: Clip Studio Paint Pro

That is it for this art blog. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited.
©️jijisaurart

Check out my Chibis on Hive collection on NFT Showroom
👾 NFT Showroom: https://nftshowroom.com/jijisaurart
🥰 Open for Chibi commissions!