Aknay - Collab with @barbarabezina + Process

Aknay.jpg

Aknay
Collab with @barbarabezina
Digital
2021




After the success of our first collab, I promised @barbarabezina to send her a portrait of me so she could play/experiment with it, so we could also have our second collab. After 6 months, I finally sent her the portrait I owe her. Haha!

I almost never had time to take photographs of myself since I've been focusing so much on digital painting. Sometime in January-February, I was able to photograph myself and that was what I sent her.



Aknay.jpg



After a few days, she sent me her version with her magic in it and wow it was so amazing. Haha! I know I shouldn't be surprised cos I know how great she is but it just really blown my mind. Her color palette just really looks so good! 😍



My Process

After receiving the initial work, I've decided to just put a little but of doodles in it. Just very little that it won't affect much of the overall work, cos I think the work she sent alone is already great and I don't want to ruin it. :P



What's funny is that @barbarabezina told me it's strictly prohibited to cover up the face. Hahaha. As you can see in the process timelapse, I tried so hard to resist the urge to cover up my face lol but of course I didn't do that, as I know the face is the main thing and I also agree with her restricting it LOL.

What's also amazing here is that @barbarabezina and I know exactly what we want for our work. We didn't even have a plan of what to do, how it would look like, what's the concept, color scheme... etc.. We just did it. I told her it's like we were having that connection that we were doing some telepathy. :p

After I sent her my layer of doodles (in PNG), she did all the final touchups. She also was the one who thought of the title... which she would like to think "Aknay" is my cosmic name. (My real name being flipped)



Feedback from the community

We were so happy to have received great feedback and support from the community! I'm so glad they love it too (as we love the piece so much!).

Bárbara then minted it on KnownOrigin and it got sold for 2.5 ETH ($4,577) to one of our top supporters/collectors Gabby Dizon! <3

https://knownorigin.io/gallery/296675-aknay



Thank you so much for all the support!! <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency