Shield vs Fire | Splinterlands Battle Fan Art


Fight



It's fight day, that's right

It's been a few weeks since I last brought a battle to life in the Splinterlands world, so it's time for the girls to face off.

Both usually fight against the forces of the Legion of Chaos, but that doesn't mean they can't pit the elemental force of nature against a squire of the chivalry of the Order of the Silver Shield, but will Evelyn Auvera's physical strength and endurance be enough to withstand the fiery onslaught of the nymph Iidri Fyre? Have you already faced these powerful women in battle? What results have you obtained?

Play Splinterlands Now❕

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

The most difficult to fit two characters in a battle scene is to give them the same prominence and detail to both, that's why Evelyn Auvera is the one who takes the position closer to the camera, because thanks to her shield I could position her so that her face can be seen but without losing sight of her opponent.

-Step 2:

Underneath the sketch layer, I proceeded to give gray details to Evelyn, in her I only had to fill her shape and separate in layers each one of the character elements, this is something that I have been doing recently to be able to work comfortably. But as for Iidri everything was very different, I had to mix her shape with her sketch because I didn't like the dynamism of her pose, I felt that her body wasn't agile enough and able to move fast enough while attacking with fire, so I was improving again and again the design of this character.

-Step 3:

The coloring was based entirely on the original color palette of both characters in the Splinterlands cards. I was surprised how easy it was to get the right skin tone for the Nymph, just a flat orange base tone and then an overlay in the blending mode to give the brightest tones and voila! a glowing orange skin!



-Step 4:

It was time to give shape to the burning flames of Iidri Fyre, so I started to work with them using different orange tones and the Smudge tool to soften and mix the colors, also to achieve that strong glow of fire, I used a soft brush and the "hard light" fusion mode and a little "hard mix", the latter is very noticeable on the edges of the shield, while trying different modes of fusion this was the one that gave a molten appearance of the metal of the shield.

-Step 5:

I tried to maintain harmony in the composition of the colors by darkening Evelyn a little, since the flames do not illuminate her directly, but I could not let Iidri Fyre steal all the attention, so I concentrated her brightness in her eyes and her hair in fire. But since Evelyn is the one in the foreground, she deserved that her sword had a great detail as well as the shield, I felt that this is what makes the eye immediately focus on her in spite of the great fire in Iidri's attack.


Fight


I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency