Cosmic Creations: MYTHOLOGY; The Tale of Icarus


IMG_20240217_140547~2.jpg

Icarus is flying too close to the Sun
Icarus's life, it has only just begun
and is this how it feels to take a fall?
Icarus is flying towards an early grave
. - Bastille



It goes without saying that I am a huge fan of the band Bastille. And one of their releases in the early 2010s is the story of the son of Apollo (The Greek god of music) whose name was Icarus. I would also like to state here before going into the myth that before then I didn't know the story fully but i've heard his name once in Pierce Brosnan's 'Die Another Day'. This wad way back in 2002 when my Uncle still had a crush on Halle Berry.


According to the myth/story I know, Apollo built a heavy wing that could support the weight of a human being by joining eagle's feathers with wax. This was very impressive and he gave it to his son Icarus instructing him not to fly too high to the sun lest he fall and also to watch his dives lest the feathers get wet and fail.
For a while though Icarus obeyed but at some point his youthful spirit revived and rode him so he scaled up a little, and a little, and a little more till he was greeted by the warm sun and its coat of heat.
The rays soon pierced the creases of the wing and one after the other they fell till Icarus himself suffered the same fate.


This tale though nice have guided me in my life's journey and cautioned me occasionally when I feel I have everything. And without fail after buckling up, I realize that danger was just around the corner.
So I think this myth (wether real or not) serves the purpose of cautioning us voyagers on this multi-dimensional ball.


Here is the Bastille song I talked about..


I just realized I haven't even explained my choice of medium or technique. Well, I saw the entry my big bro used about two days ago to enter tgd Splinterlands Art Contest and I felt like doing something like that. So I got a couple of Superman pictures and that of Icarus as well. Most of them were varied and different and I really loved that. I weilded as many angles as I could from my references and then made up the background originally.
At the inception I never thought I'd color the sun but the idea came when I was clearing my table so I gave it a shot and it was cool so I left it.



IMG_20240217_140547~2.jpg





The outlines....
IMG_20240217_120900~2.jpg



IMG_20240217_121352~2.jpg



IMG_20240217_121747~2.jpg



IMG_20240217_122057~2.jpg



IMG_20240217_122502~2.jpg



IMG_20240217_123014~2.jpg



IMG_20240217_123244~2.jpg



IMG_20240217_140547~2.jpg



It was fun hosting you friends, hope you liked my story.
Thanks for the visit folks, it is much appreciated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency