6 WIPs on a Chain

Make sure to look beyond the thumbnail as i present these six Works In Progress to you that i am dropping on the BlockChain ... hence the title. Zoom in to appreciate the full resolutions.


These were fabricated in a German Sketchbook that i bought in Sweden mostly in pencil, ink, and Prismacolors. My normal Modus Operandi, or method of operation, is to plan and plan and never execute. I didn't want to clutter up this sketchbook with sketches but rather preferred to fill each page as it's own completed artwork.

I owned this art pad for almost two years without doing much in it. I planned and planned until one day i realized i was in a slump and making zero progress. I reminded myself it's called a SKETCH BOOK for a reason and decided to just play around in there. Sometimes, for me, it's a good thing to sketch in color. I usually apply an arduous process of penciling, then inking, then erasing pencil, then coloring, then re-inking.

Starting in color can help transcend the problematic process of lacking any momentum to begin with. I think in color... so why not sketch as such? Let me know of any critiques or criticisms that you encounter along the way. Feel free to let me know of any NFT ideas you get when checking these out too!


Here are the six WIPs that helped get me motivated. I decided to scan them today in high resolution for your zooming and viewing pleasures. As you will see... none of these sketches are finished. I believe that adds to the quaint nature of my artistic style. I have some other art project updates to share... but for now let's get on with this one.


Tree of Life

Tree of.jpg

I titled this one Tree of Life for no particular reason. There is no fruit of Life or fruit of the Knowledge of Good and Evil. I have a picture of some trees in Costa Rica that a friend took for me because they knew of my love for trees. The roots of those trees there are incredible in the picture. I modeled this tree partially from a memory of that photograph. I had a few ideas of what i was going to do here... but i got caught up in the color composition and the swirls. I believe my favorite part is the green grass in this one. What is your favorite element and what would you want to see for the finished artwork on this one?


Kinds

kinds 2.jpg

I decided to call this one Kinds but that is not 100% determined at this time. Below, you can see Kinds Upside Down. I wanted to have the orientation of this sketch up and down in order to have equal opportunity to focus on each subject. I personally prefer the female and her detailing. The dude is ok too, but i am and probably always will be partial to the female form in all of it's manifestations.

Maybe if her hair was his beard we would have something to work with here. I don't know... what do you think?

Kinds Upside Down


kinds 2.jpg


Music Maker

Music Maker 2.jpg

I am not 100% decided on the name of Music Maker for this one either. I drew this sketch thinking of my niece, who unironically is very musically inclined. This is her playing the piano although she is much more proficient on the guitar. The funny thing is that this doesn't really look much like her at all. I think i just wanted to use ink and a mild amount of pencil to express my emotion at the time using her as a vehicle for that opportunity.


Face of the Blade

Blade 2.jpg

I used to have a knife (well i still do but my stuff is scattered after moving) that looked a lot like this contour. My original intent was to draw that knife but my attempt morphed into a line design with much more packed in there than just a knife. I began to make the handle a skull and the blade teeth protruding down and out from there. I believe if i recall correctly, that i was going to just make an entire page of line design which would break up the contoured form and blend the depth of field into oblivion. Of course, i didn't make it so far and the contour and outline is there still for you to appreciate.

That knife is a brutal beast of a blade. It has a handguard similar to brass knuckles with spikes lining the guard. The spikes are probably more sharp than the blade in my humble opinion. If you have ever seen the movie Cobra
it's very similar to the one the bad guy had in that movie. It looked almost exactly like this...


image.png


Colossus Down

Colossus 2.jpg

I called this one Colossus Down based on the Colossus of Rhodes a statue of the Greek sun-god Helios, which was one of the seven wonders of the ancient world. It collapsed and fell into the sea after an earthquake. I almost titled this one Colossus of the Sea, Colossus in the sea, Colossus from the sea, Colossus Fallen, but eventually settled on Colossus Down because it seemed most accurately appropriate.

This artwork isn't a great piece in my opinion. It is the epitome of a sketch. However, it was sketched in color so it looks like more than it feels.... or vice versa. The solar diadem and the water are two of my favorite aspects to this sketch. The warm tones of the yellow, orange, and gold give some Colossian contrast to the blue tones of the water. How would you like to see this one refined?


Rainbow

Rainbow 2.jpg

I have always loved rainbows. Rather it was from light being scattered in my water hose spray, my sister's girly stickers, or shining out of the darkness of a crazy thunderstorm... I have always loved rainbows. I made this one here as an attempt to do something easy to get some artistic momentum.

Ironically, rainbows apparently are extremely difficult to do well. I am not suggesting this one has been done well but i am enlightening anyone that didn't know already that rainbows are much more difficult than you think. Keeping the colors in their own lane and not having them or the shards of color cross-contaminating another row of color is the trick. So, i figured this would be a great finish to this post by leaving you with the happy vibes a rainbow should give everyone.

After seeing these works in progress... that A) May never be worked on again and/or B) may never see any further progress..... How would YOU like to see any of these finished? Or what would you like to see them modified as or how would you like to see them added to?



Sometimes, it's just best to cut your losses and value your gains. Sketches are sketches... but they have to opportunity to become so much more. I would say that if you gained any value or pleasure from seeing the art in this post... more than what i set out to do was accomplished! Thanks for taking the time to look at, read, and spend any of your time on my post!



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency