Practicing again

Oops I did it again! I went mia for a while again.

2023 has only started and it's starting off really really intense on my end, I swear. I didn't go up the mine site this time but I did climb a different mountain recently and I just regained the energy and liveliness to write again.


I know it's been a while since I last posted anything, and to be fair, I did try drafting, it's just that I had writer's block and art block again. A huge creative block, so to speak because of the intense training they've been giving me at work. It's in preparation for the peak mining season, but still, so many workshops and trainings.


Anyways, today was a more chill day than I could have asked for so I got to draw a bit while at work. Luckily they still let me put my art stuff there because I would be sad if I couldn't see at least one splash of color in my whitewashed lab.


So for today, I made this lady. She's based off Rita Lina, an actress from the black and white era. I find her absolutely beautiful and I really wanted to go for something a bit easier since it's been what? A month or so? since my last drawing? maybe 2 months now?


Then I showed this drawing to my best friend and she asked me if I'd drawn that lady already, and I said no.
I'm surprised she still remembers the old victorian lady I did a drawing of last year.


For reference, this is her. I made it when I was a bit sad and I really see my mood in this drawing XD


But yeah, they do look similar, but still different people and different hair approach XD



Here is my progression:

I inked it when I got home because I started sketching around 3pm my time, an hour before I had to go home. Sadly, I had to extend a little bit more because I played with my pet cats in the lab XD



So that's the rough inking then I refined it white some diluted white ink and chalk to give it a bit of highlight.


I actually finished this after dinner and was planning to post this earlier but my exercise alarm sounded and I need these stretching exercises since my company enrolled me in jiu jitsu classes since they fear for my safety outside the lab and the mine site. I've more or less adjusted to the workout and have lost about 2kgs already? but yeah, the exercise is still tiring and takes about an hour to complete.


Anyways, before I start rambling more about what's been happening with me, I should stop here and proceed to the rest of my drafts while I have a momentum going on.


Materials used: Ink, ball pen, chalk, white ink
duration: 2.5 hours. 3-ish hours if I include the ink drying

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency