Low light cat

I'm back! It's a very chill monday for me today. not much samples but I still had stuff to do at the lab, of course because we never seem to run out of samples this year in comparison to the previous years. I did have a lot of energy left to do a charcoal drawing despite the few hundreds of samples I had to run today. and for that, I tried practicing on black paper again to make sure I won't take long and so I can work on a few other personal projects today.

Materials: Black and white charcoal, white gel pen
Duration: 2.5 hours

Not bad for a big drawing, if I must say. I mean, I did get to work on this after getting myself groceries for the week. so from 4:30 pm until about 7, I was working on this.


Here's my light af pencil sketch, and honestly sometimes I question why I even bother with the pencil sketch when I barely see it. especially since I work in such a brightly lit room, it's hard to find the sketch lines


Luckily my white charcoal doesn't give me a hard time so once I started on the white charcoal, my process went smoothly and i did the blurry sketch then every rime I had to sharpen my white pencil, I had to make sure to work in some details while the charcoal was still sharp. then when it gets blunt, i just fill in the rest of the wide white areas.


this was about 2 hours in when I was working on my last few white layers and that I was using the gel pen I had to add more contrast and minor details that I'm sure only I would notice πŸ˜… but such is the life of me as such a perfectionist artist πŸ˜…


So this is how far my brain cells can manage to write today because I'm sleepy and my mind is stuck on my other personal project ☺️ Apparently drawing my boyfriend is the perfect excuse to keep staring at his photos until I've memorised all his features.

Or this is just me being too lovey dovey, but whatever it is, I enjoy having a muse after so long

So before I start trailing off. this is where i bid you guys adieu. Thank you for reading this far! see you guys!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency