Splinterlands Art Contest

Hiii everyone~~ ^^
Here’s my drawing for the Splinterlands Art Contest. The card I chose this week is “Gobalano Soldier”.
I took a break from drawing the portrait
of beautiful girls and decided to challenge myself with this card.
I started with a simple sketch. The remarkable features of his face was his gold tooth and big nose. So I had to to draw his mouth open to make the gold tooth visible. I normally don’t draw open mouths but trying it was fun and after drawing his suit and hat I went on coloring his face.
I also liked his skin color. I used bright red and pink on some part of his skin to avoid making it look too dark. At first I thought it might not turn out well but after I blended them together it made
Coloring his lips was a bit challenging because it’s not like the way I choose a lipstick for female faces and almost all of them look good on them. For this one, I had to go through different shades of red and purple to see which one is a better choice. Then I ended up mixing purple and red for the lips. I specifically liked how his ears and teeth turned out.
At the end I painted the background dark and added some smoke effect.
Hope you like it~^^

Sketch

Progress

Original Pic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency