What Shall I Do With My Art?

strudelhive.jpg


As some of you may know, I've applied for MakersPlace, a big nft-platform on the Ethereum blockchain, a while ago.

Well, the three weeks of waiting are finally over, and I didn't get an anwer from them, which means I didn't get approved.
Actually, they didn't even look at the pictures, I've made for my application. I've uploaded them on a platform called imgshare.io, where I can see, how many views there were on my paintings, and there were only my own.

So I guess, they have a lot of artist requests coming in and were just too busy, to check on every single application. Which on the other hand is a good sign, because it means that they didn't reject me, because my art is not good enough :-)
(I knew it, because the artworks I've send them are awesome!)

But now, I'm at the same point as before, asking myself what to do with my art.

I've come so far over the last months. I've made a lot of artworks, sold a bunch of them on NFT-Showroom, got some great feedback from the artist community here on Hive.

So now my question is, how to go on with this journey?

Promotion

I'm asking myself (and you, obviously), if I should promote my art more, and why I'm still hesitating to do that.

Should I join Twitter for example, to get more attention and to connect with other artists (outside of Hive)?

Hive really is my comfort zone right now. I feel so comfortable and welcome here, it really became my home over the last half a year.

And Twitter, as a mainstream platform, seems like the big wide world, where things are fast and weird and overwhelming.
Also there is this idealistic voice in my head, that says, Twitter is the gang, the evil people, who celebrate censorship and power, and I should not support that.

But if I want people to see my art, I should go where the people are, right?

But do I need that? Do I need more people to see my art, when I have such a lovely and growing community here on Hive? How much attention do I want?

On the other hand, by using Twitter, I could help promoting Hive and NFT-Showroom ...

Other marketplaces

The other question now is, should I apply for MakersPlace again, or just try out another Ethereum platform for selling my artworks? Like Rarible for example (where I also don't have to wait to get approved).

I thought about it a lot recently, while I was waiting for MakersPlace. And at some point, I was totally sure, that if they don't accept me, I'll just stick with NFT-Showroom.

Because I really like NFT-Showroom! I like the community there, I like that it's accessable for everyone, while for the Eth platforms, I need a lot of money first, to pay for the gas fees, before I can put up an artwork.

And I like the thought of supporting NFT-Showroom by using it, by putting my best artworks up there, by believing in its value.

But still I'm not sure. Maybe I'm missing out a great opportunity by not being on Ethereum. Am I too afraid, do I still think my art is not good enough for the big wide world? Or is it the smarter decision to count on Hive?

I do believe in Hive!

I really believe, that Hive will become more popular, that the Hive coin will gain more value in the future, that people at some point will see it's great advantages. And then, collectors will come to NFT-Showroom, to find a lot of great artists there!

I just don't know when, and how long it's gonna take. So I can only deal with the situation that's in front of me right now.
And at the moment it seems, Ethereum is where the people are and the money is made (and spent). And if I want to make money with my art, I have to go, where the money is, right?

But maybe the money comes to where I am (Hive) some day, maybe even soon!

So how idealistic am I? How patient? How faithful?

It all comes back to where I want to go with my art

I want to have fun with my art and with sharing it. I want people to see it, and like it. It is great to see my art getting appreciated!

I don't feel the urgent necessity to make a lot of money with it, although it would definitely help. But I still feel, that I have the choice, I don't have to make a living from it, there are always other options.

But do I want to?

I could use some thoughts on that

It already helped a bit, to write that all down, to get it out of my head and organize my thoughts in writing.

But I still don't really know what to do. I'm quite confused right now, one moment I'm completely sure, what I want, and the next moment, I'm doubting again ^^

I know, eventually, I have to decide for myself, but if anyone of you artists out there, has some advice or experiences to share with me, I would highly appreciate it! <3



ende.jpg

all images by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency