Splinterlands Art Contest - Week 267 - Xia Seachan

Hello there, people. Today I finished yet another entry for the Splinterlands Art Contest. I drew another aquatic creature for Alien Art's Cosmic Creation contest (nature-inspired theme) not long ago and I thought why not do another one for the Splinterlands Art Contest while I'm still in the setting and mood for that haha...

So without hesitation, let's visit the process...

The Process

The Background

Lately, I've been fascinated by mixing contrasting backgrounds and how well they do together and I think I'm starting to develop a knack for it (at least I hope I do).
Anyway, I tried drawing out the darkness of the sea accompanied by rays of light (probably the sun) next to it and I think they went well together. The bubbles left a sorta cozy feeling to the painting and gave it more variation, but I still felt like it needed something more to be complete...

The Result

And, I ended up "enchanting" some of the water around her with her magic (as shown in the original card art) and I think these "splooshes" of water around her ended up giving a better sense of immersion to the whole painting and helped make the end result less mono-tone as it was so before.

I hope you enjoyed the journey as much as I did, and I wish y'all a happy weekend... Also looking forward to your messages and comments :)
Cheers~

Original Card Art:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency