Art #37: Edward Meowlric | Full Metal Alchemist




Not very much familiar for me, but I'm pretty sure a lot of you here have watched Fullmetal Alchemist. Last week, the character presented on ArtPark's weekly DTIYS challenge was no other than Edward Elric.

Since I haven't watched the anime yet, I do not know much about the character. Thinking of how I would draw him was difficult so I resorted to transforming him into a cat. Who would refuse a cat, right? Cats are cute and they're popular. lol




Edward "Meowlric"




fma5.jpg


Fullmetal Alchemist was released in 2003 which ran for 51 episodes. The story is about two brothers named Edward Elric and Alphonse who were searching for the Philosopher's Stone to bring back their old bodies which was the price for resurrecting their mother.

Back in the days when I was still spend hours scrolling anime content on Tumblr, I would occasionally see a post about Fullmetal Alchemist and photos of Edward Elric and other characters which is why I somehow know how Edward Elric looks like. I heard the story is somewhat sad. Hmm.. is that true?

Well, let's just go then to my drawing, Edward Meowlric. This actually not Edward Elric but a cat disguising as Edward. Lol. Aside from making my entry simple this time to catch up with the monthly challenge, what inspired me to draw this was a post I've seen on Instagram. There was this one user which I can no longer remember the username, but he transformed various characters into cats on his/her drawing. I think it was cool! Of course, drawing and turning characters into cats isn't new.



fma5_1.jpg

I like mine to look really simple but cute so I drew a chubby cat sitting with his hands tucked in his chest. Choosing his color, color pattern and the background was a challenge for me. But nothing really beats than the challenge of drawing the line art. Haha! Drawing the lineart through a tablet has always been my frustration. Man, I wish I have a pen display.




Drawing Process




fma process.jpg


Drawing Edward Meowlric was still easy despite getting frustrated towards lineart. I used solid colors and used a Gouce brush for the shadows. Last, I changed the color of the lineart to make the overall look of the drawing lighter.

Then, I brushed different colors for the shadow below. For the shadow behind, I copied all Edward's layer, merged it, colored it black, then adjusted the blur around. For the last touch, I overlayed an oil paint texture and lowered the opacity. I like my drawings to appear like it's drawn on a textured surface rather than on a smooth and clean surface.

This has got to be my simplest entry to the challenges.

Here's how I drew the cutest Edward Meowlric:






Medium: Digital (Wacom Intuos Comic)
Program: Clip Studio Paint Debut
Time: Approximately 2.5 Hours
Collage made on Photoshop CS6
Video edited on Premiere CS6






taky hive banner2.jpg




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency