Found Another Interesting Soccer Manga: AO ASHI



A few days back, I had a conversation with one of my students. He was into soccer and has been playing the sport for years. I asked him several questions about it and he wondered why I knew stuff about soccer. Well, I'm not really into the sport itself, but I am asport manga/anime enthusiast. When he knew about it, he recommended I watch "AO ASHI".



IMAGE SOURCE


Since I took some days off from work due to the internet advisory being crappy for the next five days, I decided to give this manga a shot. It's still ongoing the latest chapter is in the 170s. I actually caught up with it in two nights and now I am truly hooked!


image.png
IMAGE SOURCE


This baby here is the main character, Aoi Ashito. He is a self-proclaimed "Genius Forward". The manga started with him playing in a competition against some junior high school football team. He is somehow the powerful but self-centered type of player.

He got along well with his team, though. The pass him the ball and make him do his thing. However, one of the opponent's player mocked him and said bad stuff about him, his teammates and his family. He lives in a single-mother family and is relatively poor.

The mockery made him so pissed that he headbutted that dimwit (sorry for the term) which made him get kicked out of the game and his team from the tournament. Devastated, he found himself walking by the sea when he saw a guy kicking some soccer ball.

image.png
IMAGE SOURCE


This man you see is Fukuda Tatsuya. Apparently, he used to be a J-leaguer who is now a coach in one of the J-league affiliated schools in Tokyo called Esperion. He's originally from this Ashito's hometown in Ehime which is hours away from Tokyo.

While on the beach, he gave him some advice and made him to a certain trick. He was impressed by Ashito's determination and tenacity. He didn't stop until he got the trick which usually takes days and weeks for others to learn. He literally mastered it overnight. Having seen this, Fukuda asked him to come to Tokyo and take Esperion's selection exam.

image.png
IMAGE SOURCE



His life in Tokyo as a student focusing on football is never easy. He's going to meet more challenges day by day. He's going to meet a lot of people which will influence him in so many ways.

It's a really interesting manga which has a lot of really fun and amusing characters. The story is still ongoing, but so far, it's really fun, exciting, shocking, sad, etc. All the possible emotions might be felt upon reading this.

What I like the most though, is the character development. It's not only for the main character but for every character! Despite being an aggressive FW, he's asked to be in the DF.

Of course, Fukuda has seen something in him. He's still a diamond in the rough and has a long way to go, so I'm really excited to read the upcoming updates. :)




I have watched several soccer anime and read some manga before. One of my favorite soccer anime is GIANT KILLING. I made a blog about it three years ago --> CLICK HERE

Somehow, Fukuda from Ao Ashi reminds me so much of Tatsumi Takeshi from Giant Killing. I want to watch this series again. :) And perhaps write more about it in the days to come.

My Japanese bestie recommended I read "Whistle!", too. I have watched the anime years ago, but I'll read it soon. Guess, I'd be stuck in the soccer anime/manga world again. :) See you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency