Anime Blogging Challenge Day 6: Best Seinen Anime I've Seen



What's up otaku(s)~!!!!? I'm back to continue with this ANIME BLOGGING CHALLENGE hosted by @kuronokenshi... I've been really taking my time in completing this challenge, but I'll try to actually finish the rest of the challenge as soon as I can. The remaining challenges are as difficult as the first few ones. It's not because I don't have any answers, but I just find it hard to actually choose. It's every otaku problem, I think?

This problem also applies in today's challenge which is The best seinen anime I've seen. For once, I don't really know how to define this term except for the genre often watched or enjoyed by older teenagers and adult men. I looked up the anime I've watched so far which might fit the descriptions and I came up with several choices as well. However, I chose something that really made me interested and until now, I want to continue watching it. And I'm looking forward to watching the third season if ever they actually decide to release it, which I hope would be the case.

The anime I'm talking about is called AJIN.



image.png
IMAGE SOURCE



This anime actually happened in a world where humans and demi-humans co-exist. The demi-humans existing in this world are called "AJIN". They're actually still a mystery to everyone in this series, however, the making of this AJIN is quite interesting. When a person who died suddenly resurrects, they became an AJIN.

You might think that being an AJIN seems cool since you're considered immortal, but I tell you, it's not. They have become subjected to experiments by the government, so they somehow became more inhuman. Although immortal, they're able to feel pain and every torture they get makes them feel like getting revenge.


VIDEO SOURCE


Here's a trailer of the said anime. The main character, Nagai Kei used to be your regular high school student. However, he unfortunately found his fate of dying and resurrecting as an AJIN. In the trailer, you may have known that he's the third AJIN ever known and he's merely a high school student. But because of his status as an AJIN, he's being pursued by authorities and is know considered a threat to humanity.



image.png
IMAGE SOURCE



I can somehow liken Nagai Kei to "Eren", "Shinichi" or "Kaneki". It's like they didn't want themselves to get involved in all these chaos and just live a normal and ordinary life. Unfortunately, luck evaded them and turned out to be the things they didn't want themselves to be.



image.png
IMAGE SOURCE



I watched this series almost 3 years ago, I think... and I remember myself really enjoying it. And among the characters, this guy above, SATO, is one of the most impressive characters in the series. Well, I don't particularly like him, but I just can't stop watching every move he makes in the series. He's a very awesome and influential leader, but he's also super selfish. He's crazy... but I admire his craziness.

Well, there are other really interesting characters in the series like Tosaki, Kaito, Nagano and so on. However, these two are really the two key characters for me.

I remember comparing this anime to Shingeki no Kyojin a lot. It's not because of the fantasy side of this genre, but because of how dark these anime are. It all started with non-human concepts but all ended with more humans being more and more involved. More so, politics. These crazy political disputes in these stories made them even darker and crazier. It's a very amusing thing, at least for me. It somehow makes the story much deeper, though some viewers find it boring, but I like these things, too. haha


And yeah, that's it for the one of my favorite seinen anime(s)... I really hope there'll be a season 3 for this. Before then, I'd have to re-watch the first two seasons. :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency