Zenonzard The Animation – This is not an Anime, I am Reviewing an Advertisement.

image.png

So there is a card game out there called Zenozard. I knew nothing about it before this show, and what I can tell you is that coming out of this show I know about as much. I can't even really review it as a show, because each episode is just about one distinct character with very little connecting them. From what I can gather each character is a potential AI partner in the actual card game, which is online, and this is just a showcase of each of their back stories.

That said years ago there were witches. They weren't bad people, just misunderstood. One died, and afterwords her apprentice grew bitter and hateful towards humans. This somehow has something to do with a modern card game, I'm not sure what or what the connection with the AI characters each episode focuses on is. One of the AI's becomes an Idol, having nothing to do with the card game, one hacks stuff and plays games that aren't the card game, one takes care of his sick wife and no longer plays the card game, One is a detective that didn't investigate anything involving the card game, and one is part of a theme park attraction that has nothing to do with the card game.

image.png

And there are a lot of good ideas here as well. The premise of the witches is cool, a lot of the AI's are fascinating (The one who becomes possessed by a spirit during a ritual dance is particularly intriguing), and there is some good writing. It's just that none of it really connects or goes anywhere.

This is a show about nothing where nothing get's accomplished. That said, the animation and art design are fantastic. There was a lot of effort and detail put into it and is one of the few anime I've seen that blends CG and non-CG animation so well. Using the CG just for the card game, which is all projections in terms of the narrative, prevents them from having to interact with the rest of the characters and they don't feel out of place in the setting. They look fantastic, I just wish the show even bothered to explain the rules a little bit so I had a clue as to what was going on. Not that the card game is featured prominently in this anime made to advertise a card game.

image.png

After taking a bit of a break from writing articles I thought I would come back with something interesting to talk about, but I guess instead I start here. Just skip it and look into the Card Game if you're interested in a digital only card game to try out.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency