About the Curation of The Anime Realm

image.png

With the community starting to grow, I figured it's about time I start talking about what it is I expect out of posts I submit to OCD for curation, and the kind of posts I will be up-voting going forward. While I have some help right now with the curation (Thanks to everyone lending a hand while my IRL job is a bit on the taxing side right now), it comes down to me right now what gets picked for curation, and with the growth of the community, I'm going to need to start being a bit pickier when submitting posts.

Reviews should go into detail about what does and does not work about the show you are reviewing. I've seen a few reviews that are little more than recaps of what happens, sometimes very long-winded recaps. As a review, or even if you are just saying it's a Synopsis, is not likely to be curated as it doesn't offer anything you couldn't learn just by looking up the show's wiki.

I don't have a specific length requirement, but your post needs to be long enough to get across some actual detail. If you're only giving me a few lines of actual analysis, it's not likely the review will be curated. The same goes for any kind of ranking list. Just ranking them doesn't say anything, but go into some detail as to why you ranked them the way you did.

Your formatting needs to be easy to read. If I struggle at all to easily follow the flow of your paragraphs, even if it's well written it will not get submitted to curation. Similarly, I expect at least competent grammar. I'm not expecting published novel quality or anything, I'm aware people posting here don't exactly have an editor to proofread everything they post, so I'm not going to get too strict on that, but I at least need to be able to see some decent sentence and paragraph structure.

And because it isn't as obvious as I first thought (I didn't take into account we have a lot of people not from the west posting here. English not being their first language, as well as not knowing how specific terms are used has created some confusion I hadn't foreseen), Anime is referring to Japanese animation, not any kind of animation. I will also allow for things like Korean Manga and animation. While not strictly anime, there are plenty of anime fans who have taken to grouping it all together, and honestly, it is such a small niche I don't think it would survive in a community all on its own right now. So I'm okay going with the slightly broader scope of what constitutes anime in this regard.

Also, I cannot submit non-English posts for curation. Sorry, but I can't vouch for the quality of posts in languages I don't understand. Dual-Language posts I can do so long as one of the languages is English.

Obviously a lot of this isn't going to strictly apply to things like AMV's or Fan-Art, since I'm not really looking for any kind of written structure.

These aren't really strict guidelines I've put into place, but I think it's best I at least let everyone know what I'm looking for before submitting a post for curation. Also note, these are not rules of what can be posted here (Well, I guess the clarification of Anime is), so I'm not going to remove posts because they don't fit the curation guidelines I've set out here. This is just what I'm looking for in terms of what content is submitted to OCD.

I hope you all enjoy hanging around, and I look forward to seeing all the new content you produce in The Anime Realm.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency