Ryu from Street Fighter. Painting stages.

Skin tones are always challenging to me. They can differ from greens to reds, even purples. This time I painted a video game figure, it had to be in vibrant colors to resemble the video game graphics. I don't like to paint saturated colours very much but on this one I had to.
First I 3D printed this awesome model from U3D. Really detailed one. And here you see it on the painted base, with the light sketches before painting.

1.jpg

I aimed a warm and rich skin tone. And placed the shadows with brush;

IMG_20210426_205114.jpg

Mid tones were very important to give that vibrant feeling. I kept that warm and bright, here they are;

IMG_20210426_220012.jpg

Then applied the highlights by valuing up the midtone, again with brush;

IMG_20210426_232026.jpg

At this stage it is always surprising for me that when I share these photos at this stage people always think that it is complete and it looks wonderful. I think this is because when you place the shadows and lights correctly and naturally, the brain gets the complete message, the complete definiton and understands it as a "proper body". This is what I have found out in my mind.

Now comes the most difficult and funniest part, blending with airbrush;

IMG_20210427_012611.jpg

After blending, it really looks like a finished work. But I had to increase the highlights even more to give that striking feel, with very detailed brushwork. Here are the final looks of the skin;

2.jpg

as the final steps I painted the cloth parts and painted some OSL on the Hadouken;

IMG_20210428_225845.jpg

And finally it was ready. Here are photos of the finished piece;

kare.jpg

IMG_20210429_005214.jpg

IMG_20210429_005718.jpg

The photos looked like in-game footage, right out of the video game itself :D
What do you think?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency