Art Attack! #87: A Happy Cooky Christmas! πŸ‘©β€πŸ³πŸ‘©β€πŸ³πŸ‘©β€πŸ³

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So if you missed the last couple of posts, I just finished writing about my Christmas Countdown Challenge which I completed back in December 2020! This is where I draw pieces according to the song; The 12 Days of Christmas! And last week, we ended with twelve drummers drumming and I drew this comfy-looking piece!

image.png

Anyway, I actually ended the challenge on Christmas Eve, because I had a special piece planned for Christmas Day itself!

So backstory behind this piece; for most of 2020 (other than the lockdown), my girl friends and I would meet up weekly and cook various dishes! We'd always get a kick out of preparing meals that are moderately simple to make and extremely cheap! We actually loved calculating how much we spent, down to the cents! I think our cheapest meal was $1.42/pax!

After that we'd also play Overcooked! 2 on my Nintendo Switch and we'd joke that we were basically cooking the whole time. If you've never tried Overcooked before, it's basically a very chaotic couch co-op cooking game for 1-4 players where you have to work as a team to prepare, cook and serve up a variety of dishes in the most ridiculous kitchens!

image.png

Source: rgj.com

I'd always look forward to our weekly cooking sessions and was really sad when we went into lockdown.. So to commemorate those special memories, I decided to draw a Christmas-themed art piece as a surprise for my friends, and have us modeled after the adorable characters in Overcooked!

They were also along with me on the ride of us getting Sean and my's house and when it was nearly done, they were the first guests we hosted! So we started having our cooking sessions at our house and I modeled this piece after my very own kitchen that looks like this!

image.png

So this was the sketch I came up with:

image.png

It looked pretty alright, just that I needed to adjust our sizes.

image.png

The perspective was a little weird though, especially the fridge and the counter because of the dimensions, but I tried my best.

image.png

Then it was time to colour! And I tried my best to make it as accurate as possible while still maintaining the cartoony look of Overcooked.

image.png

The fridge and counter did look weird though, so I adjusted it with the walls on either side and thought this looked so much better!

image.png

Then it was time to outline the characters, i.e. us!

image.png

I had an idea of what outfits I wanted to draw for us, when I saw some adorable Christmas aprons online!

image.png

One of my friends like to wear caps so I had to draw this really cute reindeer hat I saw!

image.png

And after drawing me and adjusting our sizes to utilise the space better, we get this:

image.png

I wanted each of us to do separate actions, so I drew Kai cooking since she mostly takes care of the actual cooking. While I would cut the ingredients and Averyn would do the dishes. Ironically, those are also the main tasks we'd do when we play Overcooked too!

image.png

So this is after colouring in Kai and my induction stove! I decided on fried rice since that was one of the first dishes we cooked together!

image.png

Then I coloured in Averyn and her washing the dishes:

image.png

And finally, me chopping some vegetables:

image.png

And after adding in some details and changing the carrot to a bok choy since that looks better, we get this!

image.png

The cooking oil and soy sauce are the actual bottles that I use in my own house and are based on local brands here! I tried to make it as accurate as possible and there are a lot of tiny details that I realise no one else will notice except me but oh well.

Overall, I really like how this piece turned out! The perspective was a little off at first but I'm glad I managed to fix it and it actually the kitchen turned out pretty accurate! The colouring definitely took the most time but it was pretty fun nonetheless! And most importantly I'm glad they really loved it! Both of them said it was so cute! 😊

It's always such a joy to hang out with them and we definitely became a lot closer through those weekly cooking sessions. They're actually the only friends I still meet up with to this day and I wouldn't trade my friendship with them for anything.

image.png

The next art piece I worked on was probably one of the most detailed ones I did in 2020 (and also the last piece I ever did in 2020), and was also a gift to a very special someone! So stay tuned for that!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
Art Attack! #86: Twelve Drummers DrummingπŸ₯(Christmas Countdown Challenge #12)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency