Art Attack! #80: Six Geese 'a Laying! 🐣 (Christmas Countdown Challenge #6)

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So if you missed the last couple of posts, I've been sharing the process behind one of my biggest art challenges ever - the Christmas Countdown Challenge! I guess this wasn't made clear in the last couple of posts, but this is actually a backlog back from December 2020, which is why it's Christmas! We're just approaching the winter months though, so this is also getting me hyped for this Christmas for sure!

But anyway, this Christmas Countdown Challenge is where I draw pieces according to the song; The 12 Days of Christmas!

I'm sure everyone is familiar with that song and we're currently up to Day 6 now since we did day 5 last week - five gold rings!

image.png

So the next line in the song is:

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me
Six geese a-laying
Five golden rings
Four calling birds
Three french hens
Two turtle doves, and
A partridge in a pear tree

For this one it was pretty easy; I immediately thought of Untitled Goose Game since you know, the geese. If you hadn't heard of Untitled Goose Game before, it's a really silly game where you play as a goose and do a list of tasks that disturb the general public. And I actually love the art style in Untitled Goose Game since it's so minimalist and really tranquil-looking, despite you being a goose and basically wrecking havoc in this quaint little English town.

image.png

Source: Polygon

Anyway we needed 6 geese for today so I had to look for different sprites since I didn't want them to look the same. And I wanted to take it easy today so I just traced them since the last piece took a lot out of me and doing a piece daily is pretty tough.

image.png

And I had to draw them laying eggs obviously, since it's 6 geese a-laying.

image.png

I also sourced that nice sage green from the game as well. I actually like this tone so much that one my bedrooms is painted in a similar colour tone!

image.png

There are actually quite a few different sprites and skins I found of the goose and they're all so goofy.

image.png

Especially this detective Goose! He looks so fancy. But I had to draw him pooping out eggs too.

image.png

And for the last goose I thought it'd be cool to give him a friend! Sorta like Sherlock Holmes and Watson.

image.png

Anyway the background was looking a little plain so I thought I'd draw something simple to mimic the game a little bit.

image.png

So I added some hedges with subtle shadings.

image.png

And I was just gonna leave it at that and colour in the sky but thought maybe a wall and a gate would be more fitting to link it to the game somewhat. And sort of give it some depth I guess. It sorta looks like they're having a gathering in someone’s yard.

I also added some extra details in the grass like the duck prints and the little leaf blades which I saw from my reference image. And in the end we get this!

image.png

Overall I really liked this piece! I thought this looked pretty good; simple and minimalist but still detailed enough and definitely in line with the theme of Untitled Goose Game.

And while I was tracing I started to piece together a story between these 6 geese. The King is corrupt and sent an assassin to go hunt the other goose because he feels threatened that his crown will be snatched. The honking goose is trying to warn the running goose because he doesnt see the assassin coming. Meanwhile, Detective Goose and his assistant, Honkson, are on the trail for hot clues to prove the King is corrupt and end his empire! Will they do it? Find out next time!

Anyway that's all for this week! Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
Art Attack! #79: Five Gooolden Rings 💍 (Christmas Countdown Challenge #5)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency